Sampler Round Up #5

the hatchingThe Hatching by Ezekiel Boone (Out Now from Gollancz)

So this one reads like the opening of 2012 or any other Rolland Emmerich film – mysterious goings on that result in deaths, jumps across the globe to introduce new characters, and a divorced father who can’t be what his child needs. Three for three on the cliches. But it doesn’t really matter, because if you like that sort of thing, you like that sort of thing, and you definitely know what sort of ride you’re in for with this. For me, I prefer to consume my popcorn flicks as movies, rather than books. 2/5

Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt (Out February 2017 from Usborne)

I wasn’t really enamoured with this one, either. I don’t know if it’s the voice of the character (a little whiny and panicky, whilst making references to in jokes that I don’t understand) or the fact that I didn’t have much of a clue about what was going on, but it felt to me like I was reading a middle chapter, not the first one, and like it wasn’t the greatest choice for a sampler ever. I bet there would be plenty of people out there who would love this for it’s cutesy stylings and awkward female lead, but not for me. 2/5

purge

Purge by Kat Ellis (Out September 2016 from Firefly)

Loved this – edgy set up with drug addicted, outcast type character (who’s still somehow likeable), future dystopia, virtual reality. Basically, a lot of the things that I love. I liked the tone of the narrative and the world building was interesting and original. It’s one of the few of these samplers where I got to the end and was like ‘nooooo where’s the rest??’ I’ll definitely be on the lookout for this one! 5/5

broken skyBroken Sky by L.A. Weatherly (Out now from Usborne)

Another winner. The idea that people are living their lives based on astrology is just about gimmicky enough for an eye-roll, but though there’s not really enough of that in this sampler to see if it becomes annoying, the rest of the world building was gritty and noir-ish and that made me really interested to see where the story goes. 4/5

Leave a Reply

