Sampler Round Up #3

Ink by Alice Broadway (Out February 2017 from Scholastic)

Can’t find a cover for this one. That’s how very new and shiny it is! I wasn’t overly enamoured with Ink. It wasn’t bad at all, I was just a bit skeeved out by it. Books made of the tattooed skin of our loved ones after they die so we can read their life stories? A bit gross. But the ideas about immortality, marking our skin with our life stories, morality and right and wrong, are compelling ones for any good teen dystopia, and I’m sure there will be many readers who devour this. 3/5

The GracesThe Graces by Laure Eve (Out September 2016 from Faber and Faber)

This one sounds intriguing (which is good, because it’s one of the few of these samplers that I know I can lay my hands of a full copy of!) with it’s high school drama mixed with the supernatural. Okay, it’s nothing we haven’t seen before a hundred times, but if it works, it works. People enjoy reading this sort of thing for a reason. I liked the main character – she’s analytical and going after what she wants. Okay, what she wants is a boy, and to be in with the Graces, but she does at least acknowledge that this is a little shallow, which warmed me to her. The voice was good, and I’m definitely intrigued to know what happens next. 4/5

GildedCageUScoverGuided Cage by Vic James (Out December 2016)

So this one gives you the prologue, which I find a bit annoying. There’s a reason a lot of people skip prologues – they don’t tend to tell you anything you need to know for the start of the story. I’m not the sort that skips prologues, but I would have preferred the sampler to give at least something of the first chapter. There is a link to the next chapter at the end of the sampler, but while I would have carried on reading, had it been in front of me, the prologue hasn’t sufficiently intrigued me to go to the effort of actually going to the next chapter online. 2/5

ShearwaterShearwater by D.S. Murphy (Part One Out Now from Urban Epics)

I actually gave up on this one. I’m not sure what it was about it that bothered me so much – perhaps the languorous opening, the YA cliches, the drawn out descriptions. None of these things bother me in other books, so maybe it was the presence of all three that had me continually putting this sampler down until I decided that it was stupid to drag out reading a sampler so much. So, DNF and definitely won’t be getting the rest. 0/5

A torch against the nightA Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir (Out 8th September from Harper Collins)

I haven’t read the first book in this series, so this sampler was a little disorienting. I didn’t know any of the characters, or what was going on, and it starts right in the middle of some sort of battle/escape. That said, it was intriguing enough that I’m definitely now interested in picking up the first book and will be keeping an eye out for it in the library!

 

Leave a Reply

