Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

everything everythingTitle: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Series: N/A

Genre: YA Contemporary

Summary (from Goodreads)

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Review

If you want to know what this book is like, look at that magnificent cover. Whoever designed that is a genius. It’s not only beautiful, but it perfectly captures the tone, the style, the content of the book.

Everything, Everything is a whimsical, tragic and beautifully written story of first love, broken hearts and devastating secrets. Told as a series of IM conversations, medical files, Tumblr book reviews and first person narrative entries, Everything, Everything explores the strange isolated world of Maddy, locked inside her bubble, and how love is enough to tempt her out, despite the risk.

The voices are authentically teenaged, the relationship between Olly and Maddy every bit as consuming as teenage romance usually is. Things are fast moving, but it doesn’t really matter. You’re swept along by the fast pace of the short chapters, the intensity of the relationship and the loveliness of the writing. It’s a proper ‘sit down and read in one sitting’ book, and I really enjoyed every minute of it.

Yes, I guessed the twist ending from about twenty pages in, but it didn’t really matter. The beauty was in the writing and the journey, and I’d highly recommend this to anyone looking for something a little bit different, and a little bit wonderful.

Rating: 5/5

AUTHOR’S WEBSITE | AUTHOR’S TWITTER | AUTHOR’S FACEBOOK | Buy Book

Leave a Reply

