Monthly Review: March

March

Spring is finally springing! I’m writing this looking out of my study window at blue skies and sunshine for the first time in what feels like months. Thank you March – you are leaving us with the promise of many lovely days to come.

So what’s been going on this month?

Featured Author

March’s featured author was Guy Portman, author of Symbiosis.

About Guy Portman Find out all about Guy and his books.

An Interview With Guy Portman In which we discuss culture’s fascination with identical twins, cryptophasia and what books Guy has been reading lately.

Guest Post: The Future of Books Guy imagines what reading will be like in years to come.

Review: Symbiosis by Guy Portman My review of Guy’s latest novel, Symbiosis.

blog posts

Writing Related

Reasons Why You Should Keep Your Workspace Orderly I lament my messy office and explore why cleanliness is good for creativity.

Subversive Storytelling: Making Your Story Surprising In which I talk about how a quote from an interview from the Pirates of the Caribbean extra features has stayed with me for years – and it’s great advice.

Critique Service My New new critique service.

5 Things You’ll Find in a Writer’s Handbag In which I talk about what sorts of nonsense I have to keep in my handbag at all times.

5 Things Reading Stephen King Taught Me Mostly about writing. Mostly.

Book Reviews

Simon Cup’s Box by A.B. Syed A cute little tale for younger readers

Love, Lust and Liam by Sandi Lynn Follow up to Love, Lust and a Millionaire.

Level Up Your Life by Steve Kamb The creator of Nerd Fitness‘s self help book

Other Posts

How to Source Free Images for Your Book or Blog In which I explain what sorts of image are free for commercial use, and where you can find them

The Pros and Cons of Reading Formats In which I talk about audiobooks vs eBooks vs physical paper books

Taming the TBR Pile In which I discuss a problem I’m sure many avid readers have… My piles and piles of books waiting to be read

from the blogosphere

I’ve spent a lot of time this month researching how to be a better blogger, use email lists, host websites etc ahead of launching my self-published novel.

Email Newsletter Tutorials for Bloggers A really useful resource for someone like me who’s sort of looked at email lists but never done one properly before.

How to Make a Forbidden Romance Work I love a bit of forbidden romance – this is an interesting read for anyone looking to write one!

16 Fancy Literary Techniques Explained by Disney I already knew all of these from my time as an English teacher, but it’s a great fun article, and if you’re not sure about Literary Techniques, it makes them really clear.

Hope you’ve all had a lovely March!

2 thoughts on “Monthly Review: March

Leave a Reply

