IWSG #6 – Two Steps Back

The Insecure Writer's Support Group - A Big Step

For a variety of reasons, some of which I’ve talked about already, others I can’t really get any more specific about, February has been pretty much a write off in terms of writing. I sit here at the beginning of March feeling like the enthusiasm and forward momentum I had at the start of the year has been sucked out of me.

Objectively, I know it’s not my fault. February was exceptional for a number of reasons, but mostly because things came – as they do – to a head all at once. If any one of the things had happened, it would have been easy enough to work through. Having three or four things to contend with at once makes it more difficult.

But a part of me is worried that there’s an element of self-sabotage in there somewhere. Am I finding it particularly hard to keep up with writing goals because I’m afraid of hitting them? I don’t think so, but then there is a part of me that would always rather start a new project than edit and refine an old one. The closer I’ve got to completing the editing on my book, the harder it’s been.

I know I just have to plough through. I have some time off in March, and I plan to dedicate some of it to getting myself in the best position to click publish by the end of the month.

I hope in April I’ll be able to share a link to my published work here and prove I finally did it!

2 thoughts on “IWSG #6 – Two Steps Back

Leave a Reply

