Review: Love, Lust and Liam by Sandi Lynn

Love, Lust and Liam Review | Liberty Falls DownTitle: Love, Lust and Liam

Author: Sandi Lynn

Series: Wyatt Brothers #2

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Received for review from Audible

Summary (from Goodreads)

My name is Liam Wyatt, and my brother, Oliver, and I are the founders and owners of Wyatt Enterprises. He had found love and I was still trying. After dating a countless number of women throughout the years, I was ready to have a real relationship with the possibility of settling down. I could have any woman I wanted. So what’s the problem, you ask? I didn’t want just any woman; I wanted The One. Unfortunately, I still hadn’t found her—but then, Avery Lewis walked into my life and turned my world upside down. She was everything I wanted in a woman, all wrapped up in a beautiful and breathtaking package. The problem was, she didn’t want a relationship. She had built a wall around her and I was going to do everything I could to break through that wall and make her a permanent part of my life.

My name is Avery Lewis and I moved to New York when I landed a job at Finley, Muir, & Abernathy, one of the most influential law firms in the country. I moved from Danbury, Connecticut when an office romance went bad and I wanted to start my life over, focusing on my career and my career only. Men were off limits. A girl could only take so much heartbreak in a lifetime. Then Liam Wyatt walked into my life and turned my world upside down. He was a man who could have any woman in the world, yet he wanted me. Sexy, smart, and a genuinely a nice guy wasn’t enough for me to let my half glass/half stone wall I built around me down. The problem was that I was falling for him on such a deep level that it scared me. Between my past and my daddy issues, the poor guy didn’t stand a chance. He was determined to make me a part of his life and I was determined to run.

Review

While I enjoyed book one for the cheesy, easy reading romance that it was, I’ll admit that book two of the Wyatt brothers series annoyed me considerably more.

On the plus side, it delivered on some pretty raunchy sex, hot millionaires, with enough reference to Oliver and Delilah’s story to please their fans. It was another quick read, that hit all the time honoured romance tropes and beats.

But little things started to bug me fairly early on – character inconsistencies, bad descriptions and writing tics – and they stood out more and more as the story went on.

For starters, is the phrase ‘I smashed my mouth against his’ ever romantic? It sounds painful to me. I know it’s trying to evoke a sort of desperate passion, but in the context it was used in for this story (and it was used several times) the levels of desperation weren’t high enough to warrant the ‘smashed’. Also, both Liam and Avery used the description – their voices had little differentiation at all.

There were a lot of sentences that used the same words in close proximity – the sort of thing that a proof read ought to have eliminated. It just sounded clumsy, again taking me out of the story.

Then there was the bigger stuff – like Avery declaring herself a great judge of character, whilst her entire backstory is about people taking advantage of her, and her giving her heart to people who won’t return her love. Or when she said ‘I don’t care about my father’ before spending the whole book being deeply angry about her father. A few times I found myself pulling a face and thinking ‘that flatly contradicts something you said two chapters ago.’

I don’t know why this bothered me more in this book than it did in the previous one. Because I don’t doubt for a second that all these problems exist in book 1. I guess the story of book 1 was strong enough to make all these flaws ignorable, but book 2 just didn’t carry me along as well. Not terrible, but not the greatest.

Rating: 2/5

AUTHOR’S WEBSITE | AUTHOR’S TWITTER | AUTHOR’S FACEBOOK | Buy Book

Leave a Reply

