Monthly Review: February

February Overview https://libertyfallsdown.wordpress.com

Phew. February has come to a close. I’ll be honest – it’s a month that has left me exhausted due to some heavy work commitments, leaving not a lot of time for reading and writing. The good thing is, though, that for my current job this is very much exceptional. My colleagues have been giving me pitying looks and commenting how I’ve had a real run of it. Previously, this degree of busy was just the norm. So hopefully, March will see a return to normality, and a little more going on in other areas of my life.

But, despite the chaos, there’s still been plenty happening blog wise.

Featured Author

February’s featured author was Kenley Davidson, author of the Andari Chronicles.

About Kenley Davidson Find out all about Kenley and her books.

An Interview with Kenley Davidson Kenley and I chat about fairy tales, her favourite characters and her advice for aspiring writers.

Guest Post: Why Fairy Tales Kenley tells us about her decision to write fairy tale adaptions.

Review: Goldheart by Kenley Davidson My review of the second novel in the Andari Chronicle. Review of book one here.

Thanks Kenley for taking part!

blog posts

Writing related

Beautiful Notebooks for your Next Great Novel In which I drool over some pretty notebooks.

Rory’s Story Cubes An excellent resource for writers who don’t like very prescriptive writing exercises.

5 Good Reasons Writers Should Also be Runners Running has helped me through a lot of writing funks, and I think it’s one of the best resources in the writer’s toolbox.

How to Write Effective Romance Obligatory Valentines post about romance –  what works in fiction, and what doesn’t.

What Lifeline can Teach Writers An excellent choose your own adventure game contains a lot of lessons for writers.

Tips and Tricks for Beating Writer’s Block Techniques for getting round the dreaded writer’s block.

Book Reviews

Love, Lust and a Millionaire by Sandi Lynn A cheesy, but enjoyable billionaire romance.

Traitor’s Masque by Kenley Davidson One of the best books I’ve read in a while – a charming adaption of the Cinderella fairytale.

Game

This is the thing that’s had to give. I haven’t even turned on the Playstation for three weeks. I’ll be getting back into it next month, finishing off Assassin’s Creed 3 and Tomb Raider.

Other Posts

When the Going Gets Tough, Forgive Yourself In which I talk about how busy I’ve been and how it’s important to give yourself a break from time to time!

from the blogosphere

I’ve read a lot of great posts this month, pointed in the direction of a number by #mondayblogs. Check the hashtag out if you don’t follow it already!

How to Flirt with a Word Geek: 25 Literary Pickup Lines A fun post for book lovers out there. Get in the romantic mood with these literary pickup lines.

How do I Make an Unlikeable Character Likeable? As someone who writes characters who have a lot of unlikeable qualities, this is a topic I’ve given some thought. Kiru Taye has some good ideas. I would add: Make someone who is nice love them. If a good person cares about your unlikeable character, the reader will be much more inclined to like them. Case and point: Netflix’s Jessica Jones (pretty unlikeable) and her friend Trish (who loves Jessica).

Let’s Address a Common Misunderstanding About Author Websites Great information and advice about author websites from Writer Unboxed.

How have your Februarys been?

Leave a Reply

