Review: Love, Lust and a Millionaire by Sandi Lynn

Review: Love Lust and a Millionaire by Sandi Lynn | Liberty Falls DownTitle: Love, Lust and a Millionaire

Author: Sandi Lynn

Series: Wyatt Brothers #1

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Received for review from Audible

Summary (from Goodreads)

My name is Delilah Graham and music is my life. I moved from Chicago to live in the one place that I considered to be the center of the universe: New York City. At twenty-three years old, after raising my two brothers and sister, it was time for me to start my own life. I worked as a waitress in a greasy diner by day and, by night, I performed my music in small clubs around the city and on the streets of New York. That was until a man and his daughter stepped into the diner and changed my life forever. He hired me to be his daughter’s nanny, but I have a feeling he wants more from me.

My name is Oliver Wyatt and I made my first million at the age of twenty. Life’s been somewhat complicated since my five-year-old daughter, Sophie, was sent to live with me after her mother died. She drove away the nannies I hired to take care of her until one afternoon, while eating lunch, a beautiful waitress and my daughter shared a special connection. She was exactly what Sophie needed. My brother, Liam, said she was just what I needed. I am nothing but a man with a heart of stone, compliments of a girl I loved so many years ago. Lust is a powerful emotion; an emotion so strong that trying to deny it only makes it that much stronger. Now that I have met Delilah, rules will be broken and lines will be crossed.

Review

Ah, Millionaires. I don’t think they’ll ever go out of style in the romance world, even when so often the defining characteristic of said Millionaires is that they are… well, Millionaires. And usually hot.

I’ll admit, I listened to this a little while ago. A binge listen where I heard the whole thing in essentially one sitting. And I really enjoyed listening to it. It was sexy and silly and exactly the light, fluffy soundtrack I needed on a day of intensive working on spreadsheets and crunching numbers.

Now, I’m struggling to remember much about the characters. Oliver Wyatt is one more chalk mark on the tally of hot, taciturn, millionaires who are incredible in bed and a little controlling. Oliver does at least manage not to be controlling in a negative way. He’s controlling of the conditions of his life, clear about what he wants, but he doesn’t tip the scales into abusive. He’s a guy trying to do the right thing by his daughter, even if he does go about it the wrong way.

Delilah is… good at singing?

But really, you know what you’re getting in to with this sort of thing. It’s character development light, the plot is contrived, but it’s short and sweet and a little bit racy, and if that’s what you’re looking for then you could do a whole lot worse.

The plot with the naughty child was annoying. There’s nothing in the book to show exactly why Sophie is so badly behaved that she drove off all her previous nannies. So she has a bit of a temper tantrum… so every five year old I’ve ever met. It’s laughable how quickly Delilah is able to  bond with her, and how it gets her fired from her job, and how Oliver is totally prepared to trust his daughter with a complete stranger who’s not vetted by some legitimate child care company. Everything is very convenient. But it does get everything moving, allowing the romance to be at the forefront of the story right from the get go.

If you know what to expect, there’s no reason you can’t enjoy this pretty quick read. It’s not good literature, and it’s not even particularly good writing. But it is good fun if you enjoy this sort of thing.

Rating: 3/5

AUTHOR’S WEBSITE | AUTHOR’S TWITTER | AUTHOR’S FACEBOOK | Buy Book

Leave a Reply

