Monthly Review: January

January

January has been the first month of a new regime on the blog, and I’ve been enjoying it a lot. I’d be really interested in any feedback and suggestions, so please leave a comment if you have any ideas or thoughts about the blog.

Below is a summary of everything that’s been happening here. It’s a lot when you add it all up!

Featured Author

January’s Featured Author was Kelsey Ketch, author of the Descendants of Isis trilogy.

About Kelsey Ketch Get the lowdown on Kelsey and her works.

An Interview With Kelsey Ketch Kelsey and I chat about her writing, mythology and what is next in store for her.

Guest Post: My Writing Rituals Kelsey tells us about her writing rituals, including what candles she burns to get her in the writing mood.

Repost: Review: Daughter of Isis by Kelsey Ketch My review from 2013 of Kelsey’s debut novel, first in her Descendants of Isis trilogy.

And there’s still time to enter the giveaway to win a signed copy of one of Kelsey’s books. Just click here!

Next month we move from Egyptian Mythology to fairy tales for our featured author, Kenley Davidson.

blog posts

Writing related

Want to Improve ‘Showing’ Emotions in your Writing? Look at Pictures of Expressive Animals Writing advice on how to ‘show not tell’, with a gif of a penguin pushing over another penguin, just because.

Pinterest for Writers I talk about my experience with Pinterest so far. Do you have any hints or tips for me?

5 Tips for Beating January Writing Blues My top tips for motivating yourself at the worst time of year (in the Northern Hemisphere at least)

Book Reviews

Black Sheep by Na’ima B. Robert A really interesting book featuring diverse characters, exploring gang culture and the healing power of Islam.

After Anna by Alex Lake Fans of thrillers will enjoy the nail-biting tension of this story of kidnap and betrayal.

Out of the Fog by Carolyn Nash A short but intense story of a woman’s desperate flight through the foggy mountains to escape a group of thugs.

I also read Traitor’s Masque by Kenley Davidson (review to follow), Switched by Amanda Hocking, Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor and started Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor.

Game

So, I didn’t get round to finishing Assassin’s Creed 3 (as I type this, two days before this post goes live, but it’s not likely to change.) To be honest, it’s a miracle I got as much done this month as I did. The Fiancé had a bout of Shingles, and while it wasn’t really serious, it was painful and irritating. We don’t have a spare room, so we both got next to no sleep for a few days, which has had a knock on effect on everything else I’ve been trying to do. Leaving not a great deal of time for Playstation. Have made some good headway through it, though, and hoping with a bit more time to play over the next week or so, I’ll be able to finish up, so keep an eye out for a Bargain Games Club post soon!

Other Posts

Words for 2016 In which I choose my focus words for 2016. It’s a fun exercise, and it’s surprising what jumps out at you. If you haven’t already, give it a go!

Reverse Bucket List A list of everything I’ve achieved so far. Another lovely reflective exercise that will bring a smile to your face.

from the blogosphere

I’ve been trying to actively read more blog posts, and these are some of the great ones I’ve come across in the last month

Site Guide, The Daily Dahlia Not so much a blog post as a directory of other posts on the site. Don’t click unless you have plenty of time to spare, because there’s a goldmine of useful advice and information here! I will definitely be returning to explore more thoroughly.

5 Ways to Find a Writing Community, Blots & Plots Finding my writing community is going to be something of a focus this year. I’ve got friends on twitter and I go to a physical writing club in my hometown, but I don’t really have that network of support that a writing community gives. This is full of handy hints on how to connect with people which, though everything is at our finger tips, isn’t always easy in the overwhelming world of the internet. Blots & Plots is also doing a Go Indie 2016 challenge, encouraging readers to pick up more self-published books.

SoundFuel – Music You Can’t Write Without Again, not so much a post as a directory, this contains links to lots of different types of music that can provide the backdrop to your writing sessions. I’m yet to fully explore this, but I’ve had a quick click around and each category links to a Youtube playlist that contains a mix of classical, film score and other music to suit a certain ‘mood’, such as ‘villainous’ for when you’re trying to get in the mindset of your bad guy. If you’re looking for some fresh mood music, it’s a great resource.

Have you seen or discovered anything fantastic in January? Tell me all about it in the comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

