Great Books You Probably Haven’t Read

Great Books You Probably Haven't Read https://libertyfallsdown.wordpress.com

People often assume that, because I read a lot, then I’m bound to have read the latest breakout phenomenon that everyone is reading. The truth is, I saw the movie Gone Girl before I read the book. I came to Game of Thrones much, much later than I should have. And I still haven’t read Fifty Shades of Grey.

Most of the time, the book that ‘everyone’ is reading is exactly what I’m not reading. It’s in part down to my extensive TBR pile, review commitments, and the fact that I try to avoid buying more books at the moment, because I have too many cluttering my shelves as it is. But it’s also because there are so many interesting books that ‘everyone’ isn’t talking about.

So I’ve looked through my Goodreads shelves for some fantastic books I’ve read over the past few years that aren’t topping the Goodreads charts for numbers of reviews and ratings, and probably aren’t being discussed by your work colleagues. Even though they all deserve to be. I’d encourage you to give all of them a read.

By Midnight by Mia James

Great Books You Probably Haven't Read https://libertyfallsdown.wordpress.comFor: Fans of YA Paranormal stories, particularly fans of vampires

Mini Review: I really enjoyed this creepy, gothic tale of vampires, young love and a mysterious school. It’s not the most original when it comes to the elements of the story, but it is original in how it uses them, and it’s a refreshing reminder about what’s great about YA Paranormal when you’re suffering from a saturation of same-old Twilight-alikes.

Full review here.

Rating: 4.5/5

Author’s Website | Author’s Twitter | Author’s Facebook | Buy Book

Diverse Energies by Various Authors

Great Books You Probably Haven't Read https://libertyfallsdown.wordpress.comFor: Fans of short stories and readers seeking diversity of characters – both in terms of ethnicity and sexuality

Mini Review: I don’t generally get excited about short fiction. I like the investment of a long story, the more pages the better. But this short story works for me in two regards. One, the stories are excellent. I love dystopian and science fiction stories, so it wasn’t hard going to enjoy, but there’s some real skill on display in these tales, and I remember really thinking about a lot of the stories after I finished reading. Two, the stories are diverse. It’s a bit of a buzz word at the moment (for good reason) and this hipster book was dealing with it before it was popular. With LGBT and ethnically diverse characters aplenty, it’s a great starting point for anyone wanting to explore diverse books and writers.

Full review here.

Rating: 4/5

AUTHOR’S WEBSITE | AUTHOR’S TWITTER | AUTHOR’S FACEBOOK | Buy book

The Dead Wife’s Handbook by Hannah Beckerman

Great Books You Probably Haven't Read https://libertyfallsdown.wordpress.comFor: Fans of contemporary fiction, anyone in need of a good cry

Mini Review: I think I sobbed my way through most of the first half of this one. The fear of leaving a loved one behind and having to let them move on without you is one we can all relate to, and the journey the narrator takes is hard. But at the same time it’s uplifting and hopeful. Just don’t read if you’re feeling emotionally vulnerable, because it will leave you a sobbing mess. Or at least, it did me.

Full review here.

Rating: 5/5

AUTHOR’S WEBSITE | AUTHOR’S TWITTER | AUTHOR’S FACEBOOK | Buy Book

The Life I Left Behind by ColeTte McBeth

Great Books You Probably Haven't Read https://libertyfallsdown.wordpress.comFor: Fans of TRUST NO ONE thrillers like Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, Before I Go to Sleep

Mini Review: A tense and thrilling page turner that explores the themes of ‘who can you really trust’ and ‘lies we tell ourselves’, with a neat supernatural twist in that one of the narrators is one of the murderer’s victims. I’ve read enough of these sorts of books now that I’m getting good at guessing the endings, but at the time, I remember being surprised and pleased by how clever all the plot twists and turns were. And the characters are excellently drawn, if necessarily quite unpleasant.

Full review here.

Rating: 4/5

AUTHOR’S WEBSITE | AUTHOR’S TWITTER | AUTHOR’S FACEBOOKbuy book

The Copper Promise by Jen Williams

Great Books You Probably Haven't Read https://libertyfallsdown.wordpress.comFor: People who love epic fantasy with a twist of humour

Mini Review: Following the trials and tribulations of three main characters – measured and dependable Sir Sebastian, outrageous, fun-loving Wydrin and haughty Lord Aaron Frith – The Copper Promise is a fast paced and fantastical adventure with a good dollop of humour. I accidentally requested book two for review, not realising it was a book two. So glad I made the mistake – it’s one of the best fantasy series I’ve had the pleasure of reading, and I might break the aforementioned book buying ban to pick up book three.

Rating: 5/5

Full review of book two (The Iron Ghost) here.

AUTHOR’S WEBSITE | AUTHOR’S TWITTER | AUTHOR’S FACEBOOK | buy book

Leave a Reply

