IWSG #4 – Happy New Year

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2

I’ve talked a little on the blog recently about how New Year’s Resolutions are pretty ridiculous things that just don’t work, then proceeded to set myself some anyway. I’ve been thinking a lot about my approach to my writing, including my blogging, resulting in a blog design overhaul and the introduction of some new features. The New Year gave me the impetus to do it, and while I know I should have the motivation to do these sorts of things year round, I don’t. I need an excuse.

The upshot of all this re-jigging is that I’m feeling pretty good about where I’m at going in to the New Year. I have a plan, and though it’s by no means fool-proof, it gives me some direction and measurable ways to make progress.

But this is the Insecure Writer’s Support Group, so I won’t go on about how motivated and excited I’m feeling. I’m going to talk about the other side of the coin.

The part of me that thinks ‘you do this every year, and you’re no further forward.’

The part of me that realises I’ve been running this blog for 5 years, and ‘five years ago’ me had very different ideas about where I’d be now than what is reality.

The part of me that is afraid of taking the next step I need to take.

Changing up the blog layout was needed. It had been a while, the blog was cluttered and unappealing. I’ve made some nice graphics to spruce my posts up and intend to use more images in my posts to make them easier on the eye. This can’t possibly hurt readership, and I hope it will mean more people are attracted to the blog.

But it was also an easy thing. For me. I’m pretty good at knocking together little things on Photoshop, and though I did agonise over the colour scheme for a while, once I’d settled on a theme and a colour, it didn’t take much to create all the graphics and spruce up my static pages.

And I know I did it because it was easy. Because it wasn’t editing my Novella. This is what I really need to be doing in order to make the changes on the blog mean something. I need to edit and I need to format and I need to publish the novella.

That’s scary. And that’s hard.

I really want 2016 to be my year. Because I’ve said that every year on this blog to date, and I’m getting tired of saying it an letting another year go past.

But I need help, IWSG-ers. I need encouragement and cheerleading and dragging out of my own head once in a while. I’m hoping a few of you lovely lot might be able to help with that 🙂

So here’s to 2016. May we all help each other find the confidence and motivation to pursue our goals. May we have good health and good times. May we all make 2016 our year.

2 thoughts on “IWSG #4 – Happy New Year

  1. chemistken says:

    I want this year to be the year for both of us. If you could finally get yourself to tackle redoing the blog, then you can make yourself write and finish your story too. I have faith in you. Good Luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

