IWSG #1 – Why Haven’t I?

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2

This is my first post for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group, which I discovered through the lovely Nicki Elson’s blog.

I’m at a point in my writing now where I really want to start getting some stuff out there. It’s partly because I’d love to make a bit of pocket money from my writing, but also because I’m getting tired of the Fiancé saying ‘why haven’t you?’

He’s not a creative, and doesn’t understand the writing industry at all. He seems to think I can just send off a manuscript and start earning. He’s realistic enough to know that it wouldn’t be JK Rowling money, but he thinks the whole process is a lot easier than it is.

Still, he’s right. Why haven’t I ever put anything out there? With self-publishing options available, it’s easy to get your writing on the market. And I’ve had favourable critiques from friends and family, and the few writers I’ve been brave enough to send my work to. I’m not kidding myself that I’m the next Harper Lee, but I’ve had enough confidence in the past to think that what I’m writing isn’t totally terrible…

And yet, every time I start thinking about self-publishing, I manage to talk myself out of it. I’m not ready.

I’m currently in the progress of finishing a nine-part novella series that I love. It needs some serious work – the series evolved so much as I wrote it that I need to go back and change the first few instalments to better fit the end. I’ve set myself realistic goals and deadlines to get the work done, and I’m going to work hard to get on with it.

Because I’ve been saying for years that ‘this is my year, this is the one where I put some things out there’ and every year I get inspired by other writer’s stories and other writer’s books, and still every year I fail to take that final step.

So I’m joining the Insecure Writer’s Support Group in the hope that talking about these fears and insecurities with other like minded people will help me to beat them. Because I really don’t want to get to this time in 2016 and still be asking ‘Why haven’t I?’ when people ask me about getting my writing out there.

7 thoughts on “IWSG #1 – Why Haven’t I?

  1. Rachel Schieffelbein says:

    Welcome to the group! Self publishing can be a lot of fun and a wonderful way to get your work out there into the world. Good luck with it!

    Like

  2. Heather M. Gardner says:

    Once you start…you never know what might happen.
    Get going.
    It’s not easy, not even the self-pub route, but its worth the hard work to see your writing out there and in other people’s hands.
    Keep moving forward!
    Thanks for sharing with the IWSG!
    Heather

    Like

  3. Alex says:

    Hi there,
    I randomly clicked on your blog through IWSG and saw that it’s your first time posting as well! I’m glad to see it’s a community that’s open to talking about our fears and insecurities around writing for the public. Looking forward to reading more.
    Best,
    Alex

    Like

  4. DonnaMcDine says:

    Welcome to IWSG! Wonderful group of people! It will all come. You are absolutely correct in saying someone that is not familiar with the industry just doesn’t get it. Good luck!

    Like

  5. Nissa Leder says:

    I completely understand! That’s the question I found myself asking all summer. I’ve known for awhile that self-publishing calls to me. I love the idea of publishing what I want, when I want, and having full control of the process. I made up my mind last winter that I would try the self-publishing path, yet, I haven’t. But my determination has kicked in, so I’m taking the steps to get me where I want to be! I wish you the best of luck on taking the plunge and putting yourself out there! You can do it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

