Back In Action

I said from the get go that August was going to be an odd and chaotic month. Things have really been picking up in terms of my family’s imminent move, which hasn’t really impacted me all that much in terms of carrying boxes, but has made me want to spend as much time with them as possible before they go.

My sister has now gone to London. I’ll be seeing her again as soon as this weekend, and I’ve got tickets to the Welcome to Nightvale UK tour booked in September with her, so it’s not like I’m not going to have plenty of opportunity for catch ups, but it’s been a very big thing to have her fly the nest – for her and the rest of us. I’ve been helping her reduce her stuff down and pack everything into as small a space as possible and now that’s all done and dusted.

Which leaves the slightly bigger relocate for the rest of the family. Large amounts of stuff have gone this weekend, and not this coming week, but the week after there will be the big move. Despite a lot of stuff already being relocated, there are many things left to do.

But between all this, I really want to keep up with my own personal goals. I’ve missed blogging and reading these past couple of weeks, and need to get back on the horse. So this blog post is a little promise to myself – that I will get back into a routine of updating, reading and being better organised.

Because I want to keep up with the writing too. Trying to complete my last project on such a tight deadline, in between everything else going on, has left me with a little burnout this week. I want to have a motivating, but sensible deadline for the next project. I’m thinking to have it finished by the end of September. That’s a month and almost a half to get 30,000 words written. Achievable, I think.

So my mini August challenge is to get in a good position to achieve that in September, get back on top of things, and most importantly, do everything I can to help with the big move. Because once that’s done, I am going to have a lot more time on my hands, and I’ll need some writing projects to fill it!

Leave a Reply

