Weekly Round Up #53

Weekly Round Up #53 (27/07-02/08)

The weeks are flying by at the moment. I can’t believe it’s August already. I’m writing this the day before it posts, rather than on Sunday night as usual – time just seems to be getting away from me a bit. There are just so many things going on.

I must admit, I’ve enjoyed the fuss I’ve been getting after letting everyone know my good news last week. My colleagues at work got me some bubbly and chocolates to celebrate my engagement, and I’ve enjoyed telling the story to everyone. I’m starting to get used to the feel of a ring on my left hand, though the novelty of it all really hasn’t worn off yet. And won’t any time soon.

I’ve not started any planning. I actually don’t really know what I want to do at all, beyond the details I’ve had planned all along. Although, I asked my seven year old sister if she wanted to be a flower girl and she proceeded to ask a hundred questions of anyone who would answer about what a flower girl is, and what they do, and what it would mean to be one so she can weigh up her decision properly. I thought she’d just say yes. The little brother was an easier sell – do you want to be page boy? You can wear a tie. Instant yes. My brother loves ties. I really don’t know why. He’s five.

But most of my planning thus far has been to do with planning how to save the money. Which means overtime. And funnily enough, on Friday things kicked off at work, and I was asked to assist with a live job. Most of the stuff we do is after the event, but this was very much more reactive. As someone new to the area of business, it was a lot of pressure and excitement to be asked. I was only shadowing, but I had to do some real time stuff. It was good experience, especially as the job didn’t require that much of our department in the end, so I was able to practise the skills without being a vital part of the machine as such. And I got two and a half hours of overtime out of it, so that’s a good start for the wedding coffers!

(If you think I’m being vague, it’s because I have to be. Interpret that how you will :P)

It’s been a bad week in terms of shift rotation – the Boyfriend was on his weekend run of half and full nights, which meant he’s been particularly tired, and I’ve had to do a lot of creeping around the house. Not that I’m complaining about that too hard – it’s meant plenty of time to get on with some writing. I’ve been going great guns lately. I’m hoping to report back this time next week that I’ve finished the current book I’m working on, ready to start doing some editing on an old project and start writing something new.

Having a wedding to save for is motivating me to think about self-publishing again, so watch this space 🙂

Leave a Reply

