Blogger Recognition Award

Been a while since I’ve done one of these 🙂 I don’t normally bother, but I liked the questions for this one, and it was very kind of Travelling In My Bookcase to nominate me, so I wanted to acknowledge her and point my readers in her direction. Also, thanks for leaving a comment on the ‘About’ page, as it made me realise how hideously out of date it is!!

blogger-recognition-award

How my Blog Started:

I went to a writing conference event in Derbyshire with my bloggy (and real life) friend Carole Heidi. The fabulously coiffed Mark Charan Newton and the other members of his panel recommended blogging as a way of connecting with readers and writers and suggested any aspiring writer start one. That was several years ago, and though I haven’t done a massive amount of writing that anyone here has seen, it’s been an excellent way to connect with people who love reading and writing as much as I do.

Advice for New Bloggers:

1. Have Fun With It

Over the years, I’ve stopped blogging for months at a time. It became a chore or something I just couldn’t get in the right mindset for. Now I blog every day and I’m enjoying it more than ever. There’s no point in keeping at something that doesn’t reward you in some way, and when you’re starting out you won’t get a massive amount of readers, so it has to be about your enjoyment first and foremost. That’s what will encourage you to keep going and ultimately build that readership.

2. Visit and Comment on Other Blogs

I’ve always been TERRIBLE at this. I’m fortunate to have a few readers who regularly read and comment on my blog, and I know I ought to do more to read other people’s blogs and comment in return. It’s a great community after all. I might make that my September Challenge.

 

One thought on “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

