Declutter 101: An Introduction

DeclutterWelcome to the new series of posts. In a departure from writing and book talk, I’m going to be looking at how to declutter.

There is a tenuous link to books and writing. If you’re anything like me, your house is full to overflowing with review books, press releases and the other detritus of book blogging. And    having clear, inviting workspaces can make writing easier. For me, it certainly makes it more pleasant.

Decluttering isn’t easy – trying to get rid of things we’ve paid for, or were given to us by someone can be really tough, and knowing what’s worth throwing away, and what’s worth keeping can leave you ready to pull your hair out.

But I’ve got your back, because I am a demon at decluttering. My mother is moving house, downsizing, so she’s trying to get rid of all her unnecessary stuff. So far, I’ve cut her DVD and CD collection – previously uncontrollably overflowing across several shelves – by at least half. (To give you an idea, I’ve made about £75 selling off what she’s cleared out on Music Magpie. For anyone who has ever tried to sell anything through Music Magpie, you probably have a good idea exactly how much stuff you have to sell to make £75.) I’ve reduced her cookie cutter collection from a whole cupboard of tins to one tin. She blogs about her unnatural attachments to cookie cutters (and some of our other declutter adventures) here.

So, over the next few weeks, I’ll take you through my top tips for decluttering – both specific areas and life in general. And if you decide to have a go – don’t forget to leave me a comment and tell me all about it!

Leave a Reply

