Review: Love After All by Jaci Burton

love after allTitle: Love After All

Author: Jaci Burton

Series: Hope #4

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Received for review from BookBridgr

Summary (from Goodreads)

High school math teacher Chelsea Gardner has the perfect plan. She’s tired of dating all the wrong men, and after years of frustration, she’s developed a foolproof list of requirements for finding “The One.”

Bar owner Sebastian “Bash” Palmer finds Chelsea beautiful, smart and fun, but he thinks her list is ridiculous and unnecessary. Intent on proving Chelsea is looking for love in all the wrong ways, he offers to help her find the “perfect” man.

Chelsea knows Bash isn’t the right guy for her—he barely meets one of her criteria—but there’s something about the charismatic man that has her yearning for things that are most definitely not list approved.

Because sometimes, a relationship that looks totally wrong on paper can turn out incredibly right…

Review

I had a craving for a book like this. An itch, if you will, that needed scratching. And Love After All perfectly satisfied that part of me that loves cheesy romance novels with a good dollop of sex in them.

I haven’t read Hope books 1 through 3, which wasn’t exactly an issue, but I felt there were certain points when I would have been more invested in knowing what minor characters were up to if I knew their stories. There were a few listy ‘catch up’ moments, and a few ‘they shared a tender look’ bits where my honest feelings were ‘I don’t really care, I don’t know who these people are’ but I understand it’s fan service to those who’ve read the previous books and want to know how those character are getting on. There did seem to be a lot of it in this, though.

Perhaps because the story was as thin as a story can get without falling apart. Not really an issue, because these books aren’t read for their thought provoking storylines – you want good characters with lots of chemistry.

And Bash and Chelsea had that in spades. They were both feisty, strong and sexy, playing nicely off each other while retaining independent thought. I did want to bash their fictional heads together at times (again, storyline a little stretched thin, but not annoyingly so) but they were endearing enough that I wanted to see them achieve a happily ever after.

I won’t be rushing out to buy the rest of the Hope series, but I would definitely pick up something by Burton again if I had the opportunity. And felt that need.

Read into that what you will!

Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

