5 Movies I Wanted To See

There are so many good films that come out in the cinema every year. I always say I’m going to go to see them, but never get round to it. There’s no cinema here where I live, the nearest one is forty minutes away, so going is a mission. We do get films showing at the local community centre, but the seats aren’t very comfortable and the times are very limited.

Here are five that I really wanted to see last year, that I can’t wait to come out on Sky.

X-Men_Days_of_Future_Past_poster1. X-Men Days of Future Past

This one has to come out on the telly soon – I’ve been waiting forever, patiently checking the Sky Anytime every month. I’ve loved the x-men films – even the slightly more dubious ones, and the marriage of the excellent First Class reboot with the original trilogy characters is just too juicy a proposition to miss.

Plus, killer robots, time travel, Peter Dinklage, Nicholas Hoult and James McAvoy – is there a more winning combination of film components in any other blockbuster this year?

2. The Imitation GameThe-Imitation-Game-poster-1

Benedict Cumberbatch is a fine actor, and though I’m not the biggest Keira Knightly fan, I’ve heard she’s very good in this.

Alan Turing is a character from history that I know very little about. I know he was some sort of maths geek, that he invented the Turing Test, and that he was gay and persecuted for it. Beyond that, not much.

I was really interested to see this, and nearly went with the Boyfriend, but he wasn’t well and I don’t like going to the cinema on my own. I’ll watch it with interest when it comes on the telly.

theory of everything3. The Theory of Everything

I saw a TV Miniseries about Stephen Hawking once, and found it fascinating and heartbreaking. His story is as incredible as his contributions to our understanding of physics.

So this was on to a winner with me before I knew it had Eddie Redmayne in it. Anyone who knows me knows I unabashedly love Eddie Redmayne, and would watch anything with him in it (including Jupiter Ascending, which is not going to make this list, but I would love to see). I’ve heard so many great things about this film, and will be looking out for it on Sky in six months time!

Imax-poster-for-interstellar4. Interstellar

A film I think that needed to be seen on the big screen. It will have to be watched on my telly at home now – which isn’t tiny, by any stretch, but isn’t quite the same as the mind blowing cinema experience.

I like films about space, even though the idea of how big it is frankly scares the hell out of me. I like Matthew McConaughey, and I like Christopher Nolan’s films, so I think this would be a winner for me. And I think it’s become one of those films now that you have to watch just for the experience. I’ll be looking forwards to it.

Into_the_Woods-763837529-large5. Into the Woods

After Taylor told me this was the best film ever, I really  wanted to see it even more than I already did. It’s got a great cast, and I love anything fairy tale related, or like real life Disney. After enjoying Maleficent loads – sacrilege coming right up: I enjoyed it more than the much lauded Guardians of the Galaxy – I was really in the mood for some more fairytale magic.

It’s coming out in town soon, so I may get to see it yet, though I think it’s more likely I will sate my need for this sort of thing with the live action version of Cinderella that has Robb Stark in it. But no doubt, my sister will get this on DVD as soon as it comes out, so I’ll be able to watch it fairly soon!

One thought on “5 Movies I Wanted To See

Leave a Reply

