Review: Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones

escaping realityTitle: Escaping Reality

Author: Lisa Renee Jones

Series: The Secret Life of Amy Bensen #1

Genre: NA Romance/Thriller

Received for review from NetGalley

Summary (from Goodreads)

At the young age of eighteen, tragedy and a dark secret force Lara to flee all she has known and loves to start a new life. Now years later, with a new identity as Amy, she’s finally dared to believe she is forgotten–even if she cannot forget. But just when she lets down her guard down, the ghost’s of her past are quick to punish her, forcing her back on the run.

On a plane, struggling to face the devastation of losing everything again and starting over, Amy meets Liam Stone, a darkly entrancing recluse billionaire, who is also a brilliant, and famous, prodigy architect. A man who knows what he wants and goes after it. And what he wants is Amy. Refusing to take “no” as an answer, he sweeps her into a passionate affair, pushing her to her erotic limits. He wants to possess her. He makes her want to be possessed. Liam demands everything from her, accepting nothing less. But what if she is too devastated by tragedy to know when he wants more than she should give? And what if there is more to Liam than meets the eyes?

Review

Once you get past the ridiculous speed with which Amy and Liam fall into bed with each other, there’s a lot to enjoy about this. There’s tons of intrigue – why is Amy on the run? Who from? Who is her handler? Who is on her side and who isn’t? I started to even get a bit annoyed as I realised I only had a few pages left and there wasn’t enough room to satisfactorily reveal or resolve anything. The ending had me wishing the next book was loaded onto my Kindle – which is always a great sign in my book.

The characters are pretty good – I liked Amy’s fragility, and the strength you sensed lay beneath that. I felt her vulnerability in a new place with new people, and it really thew me head first into her story and her world. Liam is a bit more of a typical dominating billionaire, but though there is a little bit of bondage, he’s no Christian Grey. There were a couple of dodge moments that made me feel a bit uncomfortable – but then the domination thing really isn’t my style. And I’m not talking sexually here, I mean people who tell you what to do and expect you to follow their instructions. I think I would have told Liam to piss off multiple times if I was in Amy’s shoes – and I’m really glad that she sometimes does – but again, I understand that its a popular fantasy for a lot of women. It’s just not my cup of tea.

That said, the fantasy of the billionaire and living in luxury hotels played out pretty well, and I did like the exploration of the ‘people only like me for my money’ issue. There was enough sexual and romantic tension to keep me turning the pages fairly rapidly, and as I said in the beginning – I do want to know what happens next.

So, all round an entertaining read. If you like your men very alpha, you’ll probably enjoy this even more.

Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

