February Reading List

As previously discussed, I severely overestimated my capacity to do anything in January, so having spent the first two weeks of it asleep, I didn’t really get a great deal done. Which isn’t to say that I haven’t read anything – I’ve actually managed to read quite a lot, but primarily audio stuff while I’ve been driving to work, and not what I actually said I was going to read. i.e. my Netgalley backlog. Oh well, there’s always this month!

I’ve read:

MILF: Episode One by Lexi Maxxwell

It was short, okay? Hehe. I actually got curious about Maxxwell after reading Write. Publish. Repeat. So I thought I’d check out one of her titles. Not really my thing, but entertainingly written. And it was short and easy going, which was just what my temperature addled brain needed at two in the morning when I was too hot to sleep. Unfortunately, not hot for the reasons Maxxwell would want me to be… Just ill. Still, it made me smile in the darkness of my bedroom, read on my phone while the Boyfriend slept. And if something could bring a smile to my face while I was melting from fever and wishing more than anything to be asleep, then that’s high praise in my book.

4/5

Day 21 by Kass Morgan

Much the same as the first 100 book. Beach ready, light on actual tension, despite reams of drama. The characters are bumped off before we have the chance to emotionally invest in them, making the whole thing about as affecting as a rock. But it’s mildly entertaining and easy reading, and if you like cheesy sci-fi adventures, then you could certainly do a lot worse.

3/5

Everybody Writes by Ann Handley

Review here.

The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne

Review here.

The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom

I don’t really know what I was expecting from this (it was free, so I had no real clue what it was about when I downloaded it) and I’ll admit that the opening didn’t do much for me – a 100th birthday party of a watch shop isn’t that exciting. But then the characters were so interesting and well drawn that it started sucking me in. Ten Boom’s account of her holocaust experience needed that first section of the happy before the darkness, because it told us so much about the family and who they were. By the time things started to go badly, I was so invested in them as people and as a family that everything that happened was that much more punch in the air, right through to heart breaking – every emotion amplified because I felt at time of listening like they were my family. There was a strong religious element that I imagine would grate on some readers, but I found it an inspirational and ultimately uplifting account of one family’s struggle to do the right thing in the most terrible of times. An unexpected pleasure.

5/5

Hexbound by Chloe Neill

Once again, this is much the same as its predecessor. Made more entertaining than the fairly derivative story had any right to be by the brilliant central characters. They’re so kooky and fun, that it’s just fun to spend time with them as they hang out in sewers and fight bad guys. The book ended a little more abruptly than the last one, feeling more like part of a larger whole than a standalone story, but I have the next one, so I’ll forgive it!

3.5/5

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Review to follow. (Spoiler, it was AWESOME)

The Witches of Echo Park by Amber Benson

Review to follow.

Actually, that list doesn’t even look that bad… Thank god for Audiobooks!

February Reading List

Book I borrowed

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson (the first to be put back on the reading pile last month, but I really REALLY want to read it, so it’s going back to the top for this month!)

Books from my shelf

The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey (which I started in December and keep putting down in favour of review books… which I hate doing, but is necessary sometimes.)

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk (because it’s only short, and I’ve read most of it before, but never finished, and I really should)

Netgalley Backlog

Consume by Melissa Darnell (which I’ve started, but didn’t manage to finish in January)

Friday Night Alibi by Cassie Mae

Escaping Reality (The Secret Life of Amy Bensen) by Lisa Renee Jones

Review Books

The Life I Left Behind by Colette McBeth (also started but not quite finished in January)

The Testimony of the Hanged Man by Ann Granger

That’s two books a week. And some of them are already started, so that should make it a bit easier. Probably won’t get through all, but aim for the moon, land in the stars, right?

Leave a Reply

