January Reading List

I set out in December to read books that I’d been looking forwards to reading for ages, and ended up reading more reviews books than I have for a while! I’m so backed up with review posts on the blog, that some books I read in December aren’t posting until the middle of January.

Here’s what I read:

Firespell by Chloe Neill

I really enjoyed this. It wasn’t challenging or ground breaking, but it was fast and it was fun. A really good urban fantasy YA read – and they can be few and far between. It took me very little time to read, and I’m definitely going to get on to the sequel when I get a spare second!

4/5

Reckoning by Lili St. Crow

This remains one of my favourite YA Paranormal series, and I love how St. Crow handled the resolution of the ongoing love triangle in it – very brave. Can’t spoil without saying more, but this was a really satisfying end to a series I’ve loved.

5/5

Nice Dragons Finish Last by Rachel Aaron

Review here.

Write. Publish. Repeat by Johnny B. Truant and Sean Platt

A really interesting read with lots of great advice about self publishing and writing in general. I’d echo the criticism a lot of people have given it – it does go on a bit and repeat itself, but in general it’s advice that bears repeating, as a lot of people need their rose tinted glasses removing. But for people ready to take on the advice, it does get a bit annoying. Still, informative and definitely something I’ll keep on hand for reference.

4/5

Deadlines by Chris Brosnahan

Review to follow.

Edge by Tiffinie Helmer

Review to follow.

Unicorn Western by Johnny B. Truant and Sean Platt

Got this out of curiosity after reading Write. Publish. Repeat. It’s good fun, with interesting world set up, and some good characters. It’s not really the sort of thing I read, but it was only short and I enjoyed it while it lasted. I can see why these guys have such a following.

3.5/5

Wooden Heart by Dave McCluskey

Review here.

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Really enjoyed this bit of Upper YA/NA romance. It had all the right combinations of angst, near misses, misunderstandings and bad boys who love good girls to make for perfect escapist reading. It did deal with some pretty serious issues too, and handled them sensitively, but ultimately, the story is about the romance, and the romance was perfect.

5/5

All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terill

Review to follow.

The Billionaire’s First Christmas by Holly Rayner

Ah, cheesetastic romance. I was a little disappointed that this didn’t have any goodbad sex in it, and the writing was subpar even for this sort of fare, but for a bit of Christmas entertainment, it was pretty much what I was looking for.

2/5

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Review to follow.

Two of these don’t even show up on Goodreads, skewing my total a little. In total I’ve read 83 books this year. Not quite the 100 of last year, but still pretty good.

January Reading List

I had a look at my NetGalley page for the first time in months the other day and realised I had 42 books I had requested but hadn’t reviewed. I had a problem with NetGalley for a while where I used to request loads of books because I was only getting approved for one or two. Then suddenly I started getting auto approved and approved for loads more, then I built up this backlog. Some I can’t even read any more because I didn’t download the file in time, or it was in a different format and I had them on my old computer, but not this one. Still, I would like to clear as many as I can. If I discount the ones I can’t review because I don’t actually have them any more, I probably still have upwards of 35 books to read. I’m going to try to do two a month!

Review Books

The Ice Twins by SK Tremayne

Books from my shelf

Hexbound by Chloe Neill

Book I borrowed

The 100 Day 21 by Kass Morgan

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

NetGalley Backlog

Killing Rachel by Anne Cassidey

Consume by Melissa Darnell

Audiobook

The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom (which got neglected last month, somewhat!)

Leave a Reply

