January Challenge

New Year’s resolutions are doomed to fail before you even start. I can’t even remember what mine were last year now. (Just looked on the blog, don’t think I made any…) So much changes, and so much new stuff comes along, sticking to those original goals just doesn’t work.

Last year, my mother did a ‘change one thing’ challenge, rather than New Year’s Resolutions, and this year, I’m going to have a go at this. I’m going to set myself a challenge every month, and do my best to complete it. It might be exercise related, it might be writing or reading related, it might be related to something else that’s going on in my life that I didn’t know about until the time came to chose the challenge.

January’s challenge is tied in with my decision to do a triathlon. For christmas, my mother bought me a month of gym membership, and I’m going to learn to swim. I am sort of passingly able to float in the right direction, but actual swimming is not something I’ve been able to do since childhood.

Because my Step Father taught me the merit of SMART targets – specific, measurable, achievable, realistic and timed – I’m going to say that by the end of January, I will be able to swim 200m in less than six minutes. I’ve got my goggles and my swimsuit – wish me luck!

 

Leave a Reply

