Cover Lust #37 – The Retribution of Mara Dyer

Cover Lust #37 – The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

retribution of mara dyer

At time of writing, I’m really hoping that I’ll receive this for review in the next couple of weeks. I’ve reviewed the previous two in the series, so there’s a good chance, but you never know. If I don’t get it for review, I will definitely be investing. Because I’ve loved this series.

And part of what I love about this series is the look of it. These covers are SUPER creepy. Which suits the overall tone of the book. It should be romantic, that embrace. But it’s not, because you can’t see their faces, they appear to be clinging on to each other for dear life, and what are they doing underwater?

I think the underwater thing (common across the front covers of this series) is a metaphor for the isolation of the characters, how they are cut off, how they must feel like they are drowning within the mystery that is their lives (and to a certain extent, each other). I really like how the colours are all washed out – the whole image is grungy and dirty and it completely reflects the dark tone of the novels, the confusion that comes with an unreliable narrator.

One of my favourite details is the bubbles above their heads, a small reminder thatΒ they are holding their breath. After the cliffhanger of the second book, I think many readers are holding their breath waiting for this too. I can’t wait. I hope by time of posting I’ve got this in my hand!!

What covers are you lusting after this week?

Leave a Reply

