Cover Lust #36 – Gone Girl

Cover Lust #36 – Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

gone girl

So I decided it was probably about time I read this. I know, catch up with the rest of the world already…

There’s a lot to love about this ultra simple cover. The whip of hair as someone disappears off scene is great because it suggests flight, femininity, but it also looks sharp, like sparks from industrial machinery, like barbed wire – it took me a moment of studying the image to realise it was hair. And that’s why it works so well, because it’s suggestive of so many different things, and none of them good.

I don’t know a great deal about the novel – I understand it’s one of those ‘you just have to read it’ books, and I’m excited to experience the twists and turns as they happen. But everything about this screams that something isn’t right. The red writing, the plain black background, and the aforementioned hair all marry together to create something that oozes malice. Which makes me even more excited to get stuck in.

What covers are you lusting after this week?

Leave a Reply

