Review: Otherworld Nights by Kelley Armstrong

otherworld NightsTitle: Otherworld Nights

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Series: Women of the Otherworld Short Story Collection

Genre: Paranormal

Summary (from Goodreads)

This short story collection will include many brand-new tales and others only previously available on Kelley Armstrong’s website. Most of the stories will feature the werewolves of the Otherworld, Elena and Clay, Jeremy, Karl and other members of the American Pack. These are some of Kelley Armstrong’s best-loved and most enduring characters, from bestselling books such as Bitten, Stolen and Frostbitten.

Review

I’m a long time fan of Kelley Armstrong’s series, though I haven’t managed to read all the books of hers I own, yet, let alone the entire series. I’ve read more than half, though, so I was keen to add this to the collection.

So, yes, there were some characters I didn’t recognise, and a lot of them were much further on than where I last left them, but none of this prevented me enjoying being back among the supernatural creatures of the Otherworld.

And a big part of that is that it’s such a compelling world. The idea that witches and werewolves live almost among us, conducting their business and trying to police their own population – often in necessarily savage and brutal ways – is one I’ve always loved, and Armstrong pulls it off with particular style.

I’d read one of the stories in this anthology before – it’s freely available on Armstrong’s website – but the rest were new to me. The longer, novella length stories were the best, naturally, as they gave you something more to get your teeth into. My particular favourite was Chivalrous, which is odd because it was one of the shorter ones, and featured a character I wasn’t familiar with. But the tragic back story of Reese made for compelling reading, and made me want to chase down the books I don’t have so I can see him in action in a full book.

I wouldn’t suggest picking this up if you aren’t a fan of the series, but it’s great reading for fans, and a proper indulgence to be able to revisit the world whose story came to a conclusion in Thirteen.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

