Podcasts I Listen To Part #1

Although my discovery of Audibooks means I don’t listen to as many podcasts as I used to, I do still listen to quite a few. I really enjoy having something on in the background when I’m working, cleaning, driving or just wandering around. I’ve learned a great deal, and it provides me with lots of fodder for writing. I thought I’d highlight some of the things I listen to.

night valeWelcome To Night Vale

I won’t dwell on it for long, as I think most people in to podcasts listen to this one, but the bizarre bi-monthly updates from the curious town of Night Vale make for entertaining listening.

One of the things I like about it is that it does have a sort of story arc, even though at first it seems like a load of unrelated events. Characters mentioned early on in the story come back later, and plot threads left dangling are picked up after a few months – the story telling is very clever, and I have a great deal of admiration for the writers.

The Guardian Children’s Books Podcast

The podcasts for this are irregular and rarely longer than fifteen minutes or so, but they feature loads of great children’s writers reading sections from their books, answering questions from their readers and talking about their process.

It’s a great little snapshot into the life and work of children’s writers, and I’ve picked up on a few books that I’ve put on my TBR pile because of this.

Writing ExcusesWX-banner

I love these. They’re short, but very informative, covering topics that are pertinent to writers in all stages of their careers. They also do writing prompts, if that’s your sort of thing, but I usually find the discussion inspiration enough. I do usually make note of their book recommendations though (like most podcasts, they are sponsored by Audible) as I’m always on the look out for more great listens.

The regular panel guys are often joined by other guests – again, with experience relevant to all parts of the writing career. They have agents, editors, marketing people and all sorts, asking them questions and relating their own experiences in a handy, digestible format. I look forwards to mondays because of these guys!

The Narrative Breakdown squareThe Narrative Breakdown

Another writing podcast – this one features an editor and screen writer talking about a range of writing topics with other guests. What I like about this is it’s in more detail than the 15 minute snapshots of writing excuses, and they cover writing in a range of different formats – writing for screen, writing games, as well as more traditional novel writing. I first heard of Rainbow Rowell on this podcast, so I have them to thank for that as well!

Grammar GirlGrammar-Girl-1

Another quick, bitesize writing podcast. My grammar is fairly good, but I have learned a great deal from this, making me realise that knowing how to use apostrophes and the difference between ‘there/their/they’re’ isn’t the be all and end all of grammar.

Coupled with some interesting stories about the origins of words and curiosities of the English language, this podcast manages to be interesting even when the complex grammar concepts start to go over my head a bit!

Stay tuned for Part #2!

Leave a Reply

