Cover Lust #31 – Unmade

Cover Lust #31 – Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan

unmade

I really hate it when series change their cover styles part way through. I have two beautifully matching covers from this series on my shelf. And the first book looks like this:

unspoken

Which isn’t a bad cover, all told. (Yay for ethnically accurate cover models.) But it totally doesn’t match the second and third books.

Which is a shame, because the move to the second and third book cover style was definitely a good move. Stylistically, and just in terms of striking, easily connectable images, they work SO much better.

I really like the colours – the oranges of sunset. The image suggests ending, and I really like the silhouetted image (I’m sure I’ve said that before about something, because I remember having just as much trouble spelling silhouetted… If only this wasn’t a style of cover I really like!) – it’s mysterious and suggests a certain darkness to the story.

It’s also a REALLY good book (and series) so if you haven’t read it, go out and get hold of a copy. Review to follow here soon, but seriously, it’s ace.

I do love it when the contents is as good as the cover.

What covers are you lusting after this week?

Leave a Reply

