Cover Lust #30 – Station Eleven

Cover Lust #30 – Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Station Eleven proof

Fran at House of Blog is running this as her monthly book club, and as soon as I saw it, I wanted to read it. I’m a bit of a sucker for these construction paper covers – the layering and the use of colour is simple, but works really really well to create a striking image.

The lamp overgrown with ivy, the deer juxtaposed against the cityscape – it sort of reminds me of the trailer for I Am Legend. Even before I read the synopsis and saw ‘end of the world’ that was definitely the vibe I was getting. The way the white foreground closes in around the background speaks of nature fighting back, and is strangely claustrophobic.

I also love the garish pink colour of the title. In an otherwise quite muted cover, the pink stands out really effectively. This would definitely catch my eye on a bookshelf.

What covers are you lusting after this week?

Leave a Reply

