5 Reasons I’m Glad I Missed Last Week’s List

Sometimes it’s hard not to drop the ball. Sometimes life gets in the way of things like scheduling blog posts. But though I wouldn’t mind having more chance to sit and update the blog and to feel more like I’m on top of things, I’m also glad for various reasons that things sometimes get a little out of hand. Here are those reasons:

1. I like to be busy

Being busy keeps things interesting. Although it can be frustrating at times to try and squeeze in a few minutes of writing time between the various different commitments I have, I love having lots of things going on in my life.

2. I like having a lot of opportunities to do things

I’m not the sort of person who spends four hours a day in front of the television. Not all the time anyway – on a lazy day I love watching lots of telly, but I can’t do it all the time. Recently I’ve played the main stage at a beer festival and run seven miles with some very fit (in more ways than one for some) army boys. It keeps things interesting and gives me plenty to talk about, and plenty to write about.

3. I like that my blog isn’t everything

As much as I love updating here, talking about my life and about books, it isn’t all consuming, and I like that I can feel relaxed about it. I think it’s important to get a good balance between virtual and ‘real’ life – otherwise both sides will end up being dull.

4. I like a certain degree of spontaneity

I’m not exactly the most spontaneous person in the world, but I like having the flexibility to do things without much notice – spend an unexpected evening with my family, go out for a drink. It eats into writing time, yes, but it’s good to have that freedom.

5. Even though I don’t always have the time to update, I still have a lot more time

I remember sometimes going for a month without updating the blog because things got so manic. So far I’ve been busy, but I’m busy doing extra things that I wouldn’t have been doing in my old job. I’m filling my time by taking on more stuff. And I still mostly have time to keep up to date with things here – I’ve not missed more than a couple of posts in a week, and I’ve got plenty to write about because I’m doing loads of stuff.

Leave a Reply

