September Reading List

So, I didn’t get through as much as I hoped I would this month, but I’ve still managed to get through quite a lot. I’ve been plugging away at The Cuckoo’s Calling on my lunch breaks at work, but I didn’t quite get round to Bitterblue. Which just means I’ll have to read it this month 🙂

This month I have read:

Rock Chick Rescue by Kristen Ashley

Review here.

The Ripper Affair by Lilith Saintcrow

Review here.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

I’d heard everyone raving about this series, so I decided to pick it up now the final book was out. I loved this. I listened to about 6 hours straight while painting my fence and it made doing a horrible, messy chore an absolute pleasure. I loved the characters, the relationships, and main character Alina’s own inner battle with herself. The book leaves off on a fairly positive end, like it was intended to be standalone if necessary, but I’m so glad there are books two and three still to go, and that I get to spend more time in the magical world Bardugo created.

5/5

Visions by Kelley Armstrong

Review here.

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

An excellent follow up to the first book – the stakes are raised, the conflict escalates, and it has the least annoying ‘we love each other but we can’t be together’ storyline that I’ve read in forever. I felt for everything Mal and Alina went through, and the difficult decisions they had to make about their relationship. Alina’s struggle to be the ‘saint’ everyone needs her to be, and how that conflicts with the girl she actually is, was really heart wrenching at times, and really makes me hope for a happy ending for them.

5/5

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

Review to follow.

September Reading List

To finish:

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

To review:

Found by Harlan Coben

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

Audiobook:

Embassytown by China Mieville (because I didn’t get round to listening to this with listening to the entire Grisha trilogy last month >.<)

If I get round to it:

Bitterblue by Kristen Cashore (again lol)

Leave a Reply

