5 Books I Really Should Read Soon

My reading this summer has been pretty good. Towards the end of work, I was spending my entire lunch break reading – only an hour, but an hour every day. As quite a fast reader, I got through a lot of things.

Because I get a lot of review books, I do end up reshuffling my to be read pile all the time. I got myself a book jar, but often in a month I only get through the review books – or I start reading a book but don’t finish (I’m so sorry, The Bone Palace by Amanda Downum!) not because of no intention to finish, but because I can’t find the time.

I’m trying to make a concerted effort to read one of my books a month. I’m reading more because I’m not working in education any more – I don’t have the pressures of planning and preparation – and I’m taking on more audiobook reviews, which I can get through without impacting on my actual reading time.

So, here are 5 books I hope to get round to in the next few months!

days of blood and starlight1. Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

I’ve had this forever. I was told not to read it until the third book was nearly out, because the cliffhanger was a bit of a killer, but the third book has been out for a while now, so there’s no excuse. I loved book one, and I look at it on my shelf with total book lust every once in a while, but I need to find the time to squeeze it in.

I think I’m mostly put off because it’s quite a big book. I haven’t looked inside, but I’m pretty sure the writing is equally big. I don’t recall the first book taking all that long to read, so I will probably race through this one. But with so many books half finished and bought before this was loaned to me, it’s enough of an excuse to make me pick up something else.

reckoning2. Reckoning by Lili St. Crow

I bought this to complete the series. Probably three years ago now. I love the series, love the characters and really really want to know what happens next. But I keep failing to find the time. It’s only short as well, which just makes it even more daft that I haven’t read it yet.

This is one of those cases where I wish I had the time to reread the whole lot. It’s one of those series that has very little time in between each book – literally a few days in some cases, so it’s ultra important to remember what happened. And it’s been that long, I don’t remember much of anything.

the enemy3. The Enemy by Charlie Higson

I saw Higson talking at a really good book event. He was witty, engaging and often downright hilarious. I was really revved up to read his books, but it’s sat on my shelf gathering dust ever since.

I guess there’s a bit of a put off in the fact that this is a series, so I know it’s not going to be a complete story. The investment of time to read this wouldn’t be much – it’s a middle grade book – but to track down and read the whole series would be considerably more effort. I know I shouldn’t let that put me off – it might be one of the best middle grade books I’ve ever read – but it does.

134. The Rest of the Women of the Otherworld Series

If you’d asked me about 5 years ago who my favourite author was, I would have said Kelley Armstrong without hesitation. I’m currently reading (at time of writing, probably not time of publishing this post!) Visions, the second of the Cainsville series. I’m really enjoying it, and it reminded me how much I enjoyed the Otherworld series. I’ve read probably most of them. Certainly more than half. I own a couple more.

I need to track down the rest and get finished reading the series. Some of these books I’ve had for close to ten years, and I know I’m going to enjoy them. I’ve just never got around to doing it.

Some girls Bite5. Books by Chloe Neill

I won the entire back catalogue of Chloe Neill’s books about three or four years ago. I’d read and enjoyed the first of her Chicagoland Vampire books before that, but haven’t read another since. It’s just ridiculous. They’re really good fun, quite short, and should be the sort of thing I could race through in a few days. But I still haven’t got round to it.

I guess the issue is, there are so many good books out there, it’s difficult to find the time to read them all. I should really be more discerning about what I read and give up on things I don’t enjoy, but I feel a real sense of obligation when reviewing. I think I DNF only one book in the years and years I’ve been reviewing books.

Still, with a bit more time on my hands, maybe I’ll start getting through some of these after all this time!

Leave a Reply

