Review: The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

the impossible knife of memoryTitle: The Impossible Knife of Memory

Author: Laurie Halse Anderson

Series: N/a

Genre: YA Contemporary

Summary (from Goodreads)

For the past five years, Hayley Kincain and her father, Andy, have been on the road, never staying long in one place as he struggles to escape the demons that have tortured him since his return from Iraq. Now they are back in the town where he grew up so Hayley can attend school. Perhaps, for the first time, Hayley can have a normal life, put aside her own painful memories, even have a relationship with Finn, the hot guy who obviously likes her but is hiding secrets of his own.

Will being back home help Andy’s PTSD, or will his terrible memories drag him to the edge of hell, and drugs push him over?

Review

There are books that, when you finish them, you hunt the streets desperately for someone you know who you can lend it to, so you can talk about it with them. So you can spread the amazing. So you aren’t the only person who’s left speechless and full of things to say simultaneously.

This was one of those books. My sister has taken on the task of reading it. I hope she enjoys it as much as I did, then we can both be incoherent together.

Things I have said to my sister about this book:

It’s SOOOOOO romantic.

It’s amazing. I can’t put it down.

You NEED to read this.

Did I mention it’s SOOOO romantic?

To talk about the characterisation, the beautiful and harrowing portrayal of PTSD or the relationship between Hayley and her father would probably result in fangirl blathering. So I will say this instead.

Read it. Just read it.

This book was challenging contemporary YA perfection.

Rating: 5/5

 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

  1. Jessica @ Strung Out On Books says:

    I loved this book too! Unfortunately, I don’t really have anyone to push to read the books I love- my family doesn’t read much, and if they do, it’s not YA, and my friends just don’t read- but I know what you mean! I fangirled over this book for days! One of my favs! Great post! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

