August Reading List

I’ve managed to read quite a lot this month. A few audiobooks have helped, along with the fact that a few of these were already started, but it’s not a bad list! Need to keep this up for the next month, as I have an insane list of review books, plus things I’ve borrowed and should really get round to returning.

Here’s what I read in July:

Better Homes and Hauntings by Molly Harper

Review here.

The Vanishing Game by Kate Kae Myers

Review here.

Requiem by Lauren Oliver

I saw a lot of criticism levelled at this book – for the relationship between Lena and Alex and Lena and Julian, for the ending. I really enjoyed it. It was messy. I think it was meant to be. Love isn’t straight forward, and love is rarely tidy. It is possible to love more than one person (particularly if you think one of them is dead and are trying to move on) and there are often difficult choices to make. But the whole trilogy has been about the right to make those choices rather than have them made for you – and living with the consequences of that right and those choices is part of the fallout. I think Oliver perfectly captured all this, and why it’s always better to have a choice in the end.

5/5

Shimmer by Paula Weston

Review here.

Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

The dramatic conclusion to the Chaos Walking Trilogy. All the brilliant stylisation of the previous two instalments, with excellent exploration of some really dark themes. The brutal horrors of war are captured brilliantly, along with the utter senselessness of it. The final, climactic battle between Todd and the Mayor is as momentous as it deserves to be, and the whole book rockets forwards at such an intense pace it’s really hard to put it down. A brilliant conclusion to a brilliant trilogy.

5/5

The Night is Found by Kat Kruger

Review here.

NOS4R2 by Joe Hill

Review here.

Zom-B Circus by Darren Shan

I don’t think I’m the best person to review this. I’ve come to the conclusion that I just don’t get on with Darren Shan’s writing. It obviously works for some people because he’s massively popular and successful, but every time I’ve read one of his books, I’ve been left feeling a little disappointed. This one features a character I hated, rattled on at a pace that left me a little disoriented, and even the lure of zombies wasn’t enough to push it over a two star read.

2/5

Half a King by Joe Abercrombie

Review here.

The River of Souls by Robert McCammon

Review to follow.

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

Review to follow.

 August Reading List

Review books:

The Ripper Affair by Lilith Saintcrow

Visions by Kelley Armstrong

The Broken Eye by Brent Weeks

Borrowed and need to return soon:

The Cuckoo’s Calling Robert Galbraith

Need to finish:

The Bone Palace by Amanda Downum

Audiobook:

Embassy Town by China Mieville

And if I get through all that (which I might, hols until the 18th):

Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore

 

Leave a Reply

