Cover Lust #23 – The Impossible Knife of Memory

Cover Lust #23 – The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

the impossible knife of memory

I’m not familiar with Laurie Halse Anderson’s writing. I’ve heard of her, obviously, but I’ve not read one of her books before.

I’m starting with this one, and isn’t the cover a beauty? I know absolutely nothing about it, not even a blurb, but the combined weight of her name and this cover have got me desperate to get started on it.

I really like the sense of threat – the jagged break in the ice leading up to the feet in the top corner is scary. The contrast of the white with the very dark blue makes the crack look deep, like falling into it would be a bad plan. And with the character perched right on the edge of it – it makes me wonder what imminent danger they are in. The fact that they don’t have shoes suggests vulnerability.

There’s a lot going on, and it’s just all oozing with danger, and I can’t wait to read this.

What covers are you lusting after this week?

Leave a Reply

