Review: Dead But Not Forgotten edited by Charlaine Harris and Toni L.P. Kelner

Dead but not forgottenTitle: Dead But Not Forgotten

Author: Various

Genre: Paranormal Short Story Collection

Series: Sookie Stackhouse

Summary (from Goodreads)

Charlaine Harris’ smash-hit Sookie Stackhouse series may have reached its conclusion, but the world of Bon Temps, Louisiana, lives on in this all-new collection of 15 stories. Written by a killer lineup of authors, including New York Times best-sellers Rachel Caine, MaryJanice Davidson, Jonathan Maberry and Seanan McGuire, and with introductions read by Charlaine herself, Dead but Not Forgotten puts your favorite characters center stage.

Review

I’m not overly familiar with the world of Sookie Stackhouse. I’ve read the first book in the series, and watched up to about series four of True Blood before I lost track of it. I have the entire collection on my shelf ready to read, but I haven’t quite got round to it yet.

So, I approach this as someone who isn’t a super fan. In truth, bar a few of the more major characters that popped up, I didn’t even recognise half the characters these stories were about.

But I enjoyed it. The thing I liked about True Blood was the world – the idea of vampires revealing themselves and living amongst humans, and all the political problems that brought about. And as little snapshots into the world, these stories work perfectly. I liked learning more about the mechanics of how the world and the creatures that inhabit it work. And with the benefit of not having a favourite character from the series that I was disappointed didn’t turn up (a criticism I’ve seen levelled at this a few times) I was able to enjoy the stories for what they were.

My favourite was the story by Seanan McGuire (probably bias, I love her other books) but the story about Adele Stackhouse and Eric Northman were particular highlights. The one about Diantha the christmas loving demon was daft, but a good bit of festive fun.

And I think that’s perhaps why a few people are unhappy with this collection – it is a bit daft. The stories are mostly fun – a celebration of the world loved by the writers, and their joy at stepping into Harris’ prodigious shoes is palpable. But if you’re looking to spend a few more hours in Sookie’s world, I think this is a great little collection.

Rating: 4/5

One thought on “Review: Dead But Not Forgotten edited by Charlaine Harris and Toni L.P. Kelner

Leave a Reply

