Cover Lust #18 – Landline

Cover Lust #18 – Landline by Rainbow Rowell

18662934

I love the look of Rainbow Rowell’s books. There’s a lovely connecting theme to them, with the three stripes of colour, the black and white cartoony images and the general whimsical tone.

The colour scheme in this one isn’t my favourite, but I do love the images. I love the attention to detail with the curly phone wire – it’s such a throwback to the 90s, which just perfectly sets the tone for the story. It’s about a wife communicating with her somewhat estranged husband, but the phone is calling him in the past. So the slightly old school look of the cover is just right.

There’s something about the cover overall – and I’m not really sure what it is – that sings ‘romantic’ to me. Perhaps it’s just my knowledge of Rowell’s other books and my memories of Eleanor and Park, or perhaps it’s something to do with the cartoony style. Whatever it is, this cover really makes me wish I had the rest of Rowell’s books in hard copy so I could line them up on my shelf together, a perfect little set.

What covers are you lusting after this week?

Leave a Reply

