The Ultimate Book Tag

Pinched from Carole Heidi. Consider yourselves tagged if you wish to participate!

Questions:

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?
Eh, depends. I read in the car today (hungover) for about an hour and a half and felt fine. Other days I only have to look at a screen or page and I’m done in.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?
Laini Taylor. Her Daughter of Smoke and Bone was one of the most unusual and beautiful things I read last year.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.
Harry Potter. 1) I grew up reading it. 2) I got into writing because of Harry Potter Fanfiction communities. 3) Because despite the fact that most of her books have the same basic plot  structure (It’s never the person you believe it is) JK Rowling is about a million miles better story teller than Stephenie Meyer

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books…)?
I carry a handbag, usually well overstuffed with things. Generally including my Kindle. If not, I sometimes balance a paperback on top.

5. Do you smell your books?
There are people out there that don’t smell books?

6. Books with or without little illustrations?
Depends. Not a massive fan of illustrations on Kindle though – the formatting never quite seems to work.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?
I did rather enjoy Twilight until I stopped to think about it. Then I realised that the engaging emotional description had sucked me in to a story that was about needing a boyfriend above all else. Then I felt a bit ashamed of myself.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!
Not really? I used to fall asleep reading books a lot, does that count?

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?
Er… I have a couple of books that are little more than leaflets, but probably the shortest actual book I have is Talking Turkeys by Benjamin Zephaniah. Poetry collection, hence the thinness.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

Excluding encyclopaedias, Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?
Yes and it is my dream. Whether or not it ever actually happens is another thing, but I’m working at it.

12. When did you get into reading?
My mother tells me that I used to pretend to read books before I even knew letters, and got frustrated that I couldn’t read them properly. It didn’t take long after that, I imagine.

13. What is your favorite classic book?
To Kill a Mockingbird.

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?
Nope. Not even close. Ironically, my best subject by about five miles was Maths.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?
Give it to a charity shop.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?
Er… Burn Mark Series by Laura Powell. Which are amazing, by the way, you should read them.

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?
Not post for weeks because I haven’t done anything worth talking about…

18. What is your favorite word?
Ever since watching Shaun of the Dead, I’ve always been fond of using ‘exacerbate.’

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Probably all three. I’ve definitely been called nerd and dork. Don’t think I’ve ever been called a dweeb.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

I’m getting a bit bored of vampires (never thought those words would ever leave my mouth) so badass fairies please.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?
I love angels a la Supernatural – warriors and morally questionable at times.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?
Ghosts freak me the hell out quite a lot, if done right. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, though.

23. Zombies or Vampires?
Zombies. Any day.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love
I’m not a huge fan of love triangles. Give me forbidden love any day. As long as it’s not forbidden for Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma reasons. Then I just feel awkward.

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Generally I prefer action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in, but I’m partial to a good full on romance from time to time.

Leave a Reply

