Anatomy of a Bookshelf #8

Boyfriend’s Bookshelf + Overflow/Comics/Scripts

Bookshelf 8

1-6. Harry Potter Series – 1 by J.K. Rowling

These are the Boyfriend’s. I’m not upstairs looking at the shelf, but judging from the covers, I think it’s Prisoner of Azkaban we’re missing. My favourite of the books. Oddly.

7. About A Boy by Nick Hornby

I figured the Boyfriend would enjoy Nick Hornby as he enjoys Mark Haddon. I think I got this for him before a holiday, hoping he would enjoy reading it and leave me in peace to read whatever I was ploughing through at the time. No such luck. I don’t think he’s even opened it.

8. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

A book that the Boyfriend was recommended by his English teacher. He hated it. It’s only still on the shelf because I really love it.

9. The Virgin’s Lover by Philippa Gregory

Actually mine. It didn’t fit on any of the other shelves on account of its chunkiness. I haven’t read any Philippa Gregory before, but I’ve heard many good things, so I look forwards to getting round to this.

10. A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon

A book that made the Boyfriend laugh out loud, cementing his love for Mark Haddon. I had to read it aloud to him, because he fails at reading. But I quite enjoyed it too.

11-17. Another series of reference books

Including: Police recruitment, advanced driving and the Highway Code.

18. How to Get a Sofa Around A Corner by Mark Frary

I don’t know where this came from, I don’t know what it is. I do know it has never been opened, and has probably been left on the shelf only by merit of the fact that I don’t even recall that it’s there…

19. Tony Blair: A Journey

Yeah… The Boyfriend’s relatives all live in the North East and are staunch Conservative party haters after Thatcher shut down the mines. He was bought this by his nan. It’s never been opened. Unsurprisingly.

20. Car Fever by James May

Either another gift from his relatives, or another book I bought to tempt the Boyfriend to read on holiday. I can’t remember.

21-24. Plymouth Argyle Memorabilia

The Boyfriend’s dad used to play for Plymouth Argyle (in the days before footballers were paid more for their faces on hair products than they were for their game) so we have a few bits and bobs of memorabilia – programs and reference books like ‘top 100 greatest players’ and that kind of thing.

25. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Radio Script by Douglas Adams

Hitchhiker’s Guide was a huge turning point in my reading – the first sic-fi book that I read and truly loved. I’d dabbled before, but it was this that opened the whole world of sci-fi up to me. My mother bought me the radio scripts when I finished reading the book.

26. Star Wars Episode 1 Script

I know. As an adult I can look at the failings of Star Wars Episode 1 and the other prequels with a critical eye. But age ten when the first film came out, all I wanted was a Podracer of my own. So I got bought this for christmas instead. Plus, my mother was having something of a love affair with Liam Neeson, so she was all for encouraging my obsession.

27. Heroes: Volume 1

I think the entirety of my first year of Uni was spent watching, re-watching and discussing Heroes. It was exceptionally disappointing when the second series went crap and it never really recovered. Before I knew that would happen, this volume of comic back stories was welcome addition to the expanded universe of the show that I loved.

28. Supernatural Origins

Another expanded universe for another show I loved. For when I wasn’t watching Heroes, I was watching Supernatural. Supernatural was well into it’s third series by the time I fell into it, but I loved having 50 odd episodes to catch up on. Supernatural did at least hold out until series 7 before it went totally crap, though series 6 was a little shaky. I’m watching series 8 now because it’s on catch up, and I almost feel I owe it my allegiance. So many hours spent watching. Giving up now would be… betrayal.

30. The Writer’s Tale by Russell T. Davies

Bought for the family and given to me when we were massively into Doctor Who and I was just starting out in my ambitions to be a writer. I’ve dipped in and out of this over the years.

Leave a Reply

