Anatomy of a Bookshelf #7

Reference Books Shelf 1

Bookshelf 7

1. A Field Guide to Demons by Carol K. Mack and Dinah Mack]

A really fun book that takes demons and sprites as if they are real and tells you where to find them.

2. Cause of Death by Keith D. Wilson

Given to me by a fellow writer who knew I was working on a murder mystery project. Very useful.

3. Gods and Myths of Northern Empire H.R. Ellis Davidson

A reference book I bought for Uni. I really enjoyed dipping into it back then, and must go back through it one day soon.

4. From Olympians to Heroes

Bought in Greece in a tourist shop, so probably not the best reference book, but it has some nice pictures and tells the most famous tales.

5. The History of Witchcraft and Demonology by Montague Summers

Also bought during University. It’s heavy going – written in the old-fashioned prose of its era. The guy genuinely believes in witchcraft, too, which is pretty entertaining.

6. The Vampire and his Kith and Kin by Montague Summers

Bought at the same time as the previous. I was writing Urban Fantasy at the time.

7. Greek Mythology by Marilena Carabatea

Also bought on holiday if I remember correctly.

8. The Guardian Great Fairy Tales Series

I bought the Guardian for a week to get all of these. Lovely little booklets about fairy tales of all varieties.

9. Medical Curiosity

Rescued from my grandparents’ house when I thought I might need a medical reference book. Now my sister wants to train to be a doctor, so I just ask her.

10. Mythology edited by Richard Cavendish

Another book bought during my Uni years. I collect mythology reference books…

11. True Monster Stories by Terry Deary

Not sure why this is here. It’s one of the books the Boyfriend had in his bedroom in his parents’ house that didn’t get thrown out.

12. The Mythical Creatures Bible by Brenda Rosen

I don’t know where this one came from. I may have bought it, it may have been bought for me. There was a while when reference books for the supernatural were the go to present for me.

13+14. Firefighter Test books

These actually do belong to the Boyfriend and have been used plenty. He really wants to be a firefighter, but no joy yet.

15. The Writer’s Digest Guide to Query Letters

I won this in a competition on a blog. I haven’t had a chance to use it, but it’s there ready for that day!

16. A poetry collection of one of my writing group

Which I haven’t read yet… I’m bad with poetry.

17. Foyles Further Philavery

A lovely book to dip into from time to time – interesting and unusual words from our language’s history.

18. Bryson’s Dictionary for Writers and Editors

This came in a set with a few different useful writer reference books. I really want them to be on my desk where I do my writing, but the shelf above it can’t take much weight. When I get my new study, I’m going to make sure this is to hand.

19. Troublesome Words by Bill Bryson

Came in the same set as the above.

20. 20 Master Plots by Ronald B. Tobias

A great reference book for writers. Again, I dream of a book shelf strong enough to support the weight of this with the rest of the reference books.

21. Writing the Breakout Novel by Donald Maass

Another great, if dense, writing advice book. I’ve read through it once, but it will be great for dipping into when I need it.

22. On Writing by Stephen King

The classic writing advice book. I really enjoyed this and learnt a lot from it.

23. Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott

The last of my writing advice books, and the only one I haven’t read yet. I look forwards to picking it up next time I fall into a writing slump and need inspiring.

Leave a Reply

