Anatomy of a Bookshelf #5

Borrowed Book Shelf

Bookshelf 5

1. Schindler’s List by Thomas Keneally

I borrowed this, well took this, from my grandparents’ when they were having a clear out. I also have the film on my Sky+ Planner. I haven’t read/watched either.

2-7. Some Girls Bite/Friday Night Bites/Twice Bitten/Hard Bitten/Drink Deep/Biting Cold by Chloe Neill

Won these. Will not keep them when read, so they live here with the rest of the books that will go as soon as they are read.

8. The Coming of the Terraphiles by Michael Moorcock

Every year, a friend of the family buys a box of books for us to share. This is one of those, and will return to the family bookshelf hub when I’m finished with it.

9. Something Sensational to Read in the Train by Gyles Brandreth

See above.

10. Sacred Treason by James Forrester

I won this several years ago in a Waterstones competition. It looks Dan Brown-esque, which is why it’s on this shelf. A definite ‘read then charity shop’ sort of book.

11. Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

Borrowed from Carole Heidi (the first of many – we frequently book swap). I really, really loved the first instalment and couldn’t wait to read this one, but decided to, because I didn’t want to wait months for the final one.

12. City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

I wasn’t overly enamoured with the first instalment of this, but liked it enough to think it was worth tracking down the second, but the library always had book 1 and 3, never 2. So I’ve borrowed it.

13. The Story Sisters by Alice Hoffman

After I enjoyed another Alice Hoffman book, Carole loaned me this to sample.

14. Coldbrook by Tim Lebbon

Carole fuelling my love of zombies. We got a free sample booklet with a couple of chapters in, and we both wanted to read the full book when it came out.

15. The Order of the Scales by Stephen Deas

Dragons – my next favourite thing after zombies.

16. Where Demons Dare by Kim Harrison

For A Few Demons More is on my desk waiting to be finished. I don’t know what it is about this series. I like them well enough, but I often put them down in favour of other books, leading to massively long reading times. Eventually I will finish them and give them all back.

17. Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

Back to the books that belong to me. This was moved down here one month when I was reading all my really short books to try and read as many as possible in a month. I never read it, and I never moved it back.

18. Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

I read most of this, then never finished it, hence its place on the bottom shelf. It’s waiting to be finished off and passed on.

19. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

See above.

20. Walking the Tree by Kaaron Warren

A freebie in a convention goody bag. Not something I would usually read, but given that I got it free, I may as well try it out! It’s waiting to be plucked from the book jar.

21. The Mammoth Book of Extreme Fantasy

Another convention goody bag freebie.

22. Heroes: Saving Charlie by Aury Wallington

I was given this when I was madly into Heroes the TV show. The show has since been cancelled and I still haven’t read it, despite loving the Charlie story on the show. One day. One day.

23. The Secret Life of a Slummy Mummy by Fiona Neill

I bought this probably ten years ago when I had some sort of offer in WH Smiths that meant I had to buy one more book to get a discount. I picked this because it was on the bestseller’s list at the time. Not really the sort of thing I’d read, which is why it remains unread all this time later.

24. The White Queen by Philippa Gregory

Received as part of a World Book Day promotion.

25. Girl With a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier

As 24.

26. The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry

As 24.

27. The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith

As 24.

28. The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

As 24.

Leave a Reply

