Receiving Review Books

When I started this blog, I already had a regular supply of review books from another website I reviewed for. I wrote reviews for them, then wrote a different review for this site, saying the same things in slightly new ways. There was always an element of holding back on my personality on the other site, of being ‘professional.’ Here, I could be my unvarnished self, and I enjoyed how that opened the doors to a lot of squeeing, and, at the opposite end of the spectrum, raging.

Less raging. I’m not a difficult to please reviewer.

Anyway, when I started this blog, there was no grand pursuit of books to review, because I already had more books on my shelves than I had time to read, and with a steady stream of new titles, I felt like I had more than enough to keep me going.

Then, a couple of years down the line I inherited a Kindle rammed full of things, most of which I will never read, but plenty of which I will. Apart from the sudden influx of titles I’d inherited, owning a Kindle really opened up the world of e-galleys. I signed up to NetGalley and started requesting books. With a lot of success – too much. My request to review ratio is currently prohibitive in accessing new titles, though I am auto-approved for a number of publishers, and still occasionally get emails saying I can read a title automatically.

Publishers have started approaching me – self-publishers, small press, and larger presses. This is incredibly exciting, though it does land me with even more (wonderful) books to somehow squeeze into my reading schedule!

And then the other day I got a parcel token addressed to the blog. When I picked up the parcel, it was my first unsolicited review. I am on the HarperCollins mailing list of bloggers, and they have approached me about e-galleys before, but I’ve never just received a book in the post completely out of the blue before.

It was very exciting. And it’s hard to tell from that picture, but the book is a MONSTER. 788 pages, and not mass market paperback pages either – the bigger kind. £18.99 of book sent my way. I know the money shouldn’t matter, but there was still a definite thrill of excitement to see that someone values my opinion enough to send me such a big galley.

Natchez Burning has some huge names providing blurbs – John Grisham, Jodi Picoult and Stephen King to name just a few – and though it’s probably going to break my arms to read, I’m very much looking forwards to diving in!

IMG_1278

2 thoughts on “Receiving Review Books

  1. house painting says:

    Hi I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by
    mistake, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Regardless I am here
    now and would just like to say kudos for a fantastic post
    and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it
    all at the minute but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please
    do keep up the awesome work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

