March Reading List

Another good month of reading – though it didn’t initially start that way. I got most done during my week’s holiday, but that’s alright. Got there in the end. This month is a bit longer, but I’ve still got quite a backlog to get through. It would be so easy to just focus on the many excellent sounding review books I’ve got from NetGalley, but I want to keep my New Year’s Resolution going, so I’m going to pick my four books – one review, one borrowed, one mine from ages ago and one self published – and try to squeeze as many others in between as I can.

Story of O by Pauline Réage

I’m finding it difficult to put into words my feelings about this book. It is well written in terms of content, though it is old fashioned in its style – with paragraphs sometimes stretching three or four pages long, which didn’t make it easy to read, and often I had to go back over pages after losing my train of thought. I didn’t find it particularly erotic. It mostly just confused me a bit. I kept trying to figure out O’s motivations, but couldn’t relate to a character who would give herself over so utterly for the sake of love. Just weird.

Rating: 3/5

Hollow Earth by John and Carole E. Barrowman

Twins Matt and Em Calder have incredible powers – by drawing and using their imaginations, they can make things come to life. When they are forced to flee their home in London to the Scottish island where the Grandfather they never knew about lives, Matt and Em realise that there is much more to their abilities than they knew, and some people want to use their powers for evil.

This is a fabulous, fast paced adventure with great characters, humour and more than a little intrigue. It jumps around between characters, which can be disorienting, but otherwise is an excellent read.

Rating: 4/5

Local Girls by Alice Hoffman

A series of interlinking short stories about Gretel Samuelson and her family, who are falling apart, told from a few different points of view. To say more than that is to spoil the book, which should be discovered gradually, one piece of the jigsaw at a time. Hoffman writes about the absurdity and senselessness of life with a light and lyrical touch, exploring how sometimes nothing, and everything seems to be going your way. With just a dash of magic realism, this is a thought provoking, heart warming book that I can’t believe I didn’t read sooner. Really good stuff.

Rating: 5/5

Scary Mary by S.A. Hunter

Review here.

Devil’s Bargain by Rachel Caine

Review here.

Devil’s Due by Rachel Caine

Review here.

Gilt by Katherine Longshore

Review here.

The Marsh People by Valentine Williams

Review here.

Bone Quill by John and Carole E. Barrowman

Review to follow.

March Reading List

The Fallen Star by Jessica Sorensen (Self Published)

Between Two Thorns by Emma Newman (Review)

Slated by Teri Terry (borrowed from Library)

This Book Will Save Your Life by A.M. Holmes (from my shelf)

Leave a Reply

