Review: Can’t Live Without by Joanne Phillips

can't live withoutTitle: Can’t Live Without

Author: Joanne Phillips

Series: There’s a sequel in the works called ‘The Family Trap’

Genre: Chick Lit

Summary (from Goodreads)

How does it feel to lose everything you own?

Stella Hill is proud of the home she’s created for herself and her daughter. She’s worked hard to buy the very best of everything … But when she wakes one morning to find her kitchen on fire, Stella knows her life will never be the same again.

At least she has Paul to lean on: Paul Smart, owner of Smart Homes, confirmed bachelor and unknowing recipient of a schoolgirl crush Stella never quite got over … When the charismatic John Dean turns up after sixteen years, Stella is determined not to fall for him again. Because now her heart belongs elsewhere. Or does it?

With a boss she’s half in love with, a teenage daughter about to go seriously off the rails, a spendaholic mother, and a house to rebuild, Stella’s problems are only just beginning.

Can Stella put her life – and her home – back together again? And will she ever realise just what it is she really can’t live without?

Review

I decided to start reviewing Self Pubbed books because I think Self Publishing is moving away from the ‘Vanity Press’ days to becoming a valid avenue for writers looking to get their work out there. With fierce competition for limited places in publishing house line ups, there must be thousands of good books out there that get turned away (Harry Potter, famously rejected many times before JKR made her fortune).

I must admit though, even though it’s something I’m considering myself (for my novellas, which wouldn’t find a place in a traditional publishing house, even if they were the most amazing books ever written) I still carry something of a bias myself. I don’t expect anything from Self Published books. And that can be a good and bad thing.

Can’t Live Without, then, before I start waffling completely off tangent.

A cracking opening had me instantly engaged, and Stella is a character easy to love, despite her flaws. Her first person, present tense narrative is energetic and opinionated, bordering on bitchy in a way that is very amusing. There was clear voice from the very first line, and it didn’t take long to think of Stella as an old friend, with a measure of definite fondness as she screwed up time and time again.

But then the second chapter jumps to a third person, past tense narrative, following Stella’s teenage daughter, who later writes a first person section in her diary, and then there’s Paul, Stella’s boss and love interest, who also gets a narrative perspective…

I’m not keen on books that swap styles as they swap viewpoints. You have to give your characters a unique viewpoint, yes, but it’s my personal opinion that the viewpoints should at least be consistent in terms of tense and perspective. I find it jarring transitioning between the different styles.

That said, I did love Lipsy’s diary entries. The stroppy teenager with unrealistic ideas about life was an entertaining view to have, and I preferred it enormously to the third person perspective sections that followed her. It was a nice way of revealing her character development as well, showing her change in attitude across the span of the novel.

And there was tonnes of character development. This wasn’t the soggy sort of chick lit that makes me abhor the genre. The characters were realistic, flawed, with definite growth. Some of the more background characters were a little two dimensional (Loretta the office bitch, Billy, Stella’s brother) but that’s fairly standard for any book, and the major players more than made up for it.

In fact, I doubt I’d have even particularly noticed the background characters if they’d stayed very much in the background, but my second issue with Can’t Live Without was the story.

It wasn’t the issue that a lot of books I’ve read lately have: that there is no story. In fact, it was totally the opposite. There was too much. For a relatively short book, it did try to pack in a lot of stuff – teenage rebellion, family in prison, absent fathers, the issues of consumerism, as well as the romance side of things. Any one of these things could have made a good novel, and a couple could have made a great one. I just felt in the rush to pack all these things in, none were really explored in enough detail, and character revelations and epiphanies came thick and fast and usually quite cheesy. Characters changed completely in a page length. Relationships were forged and broken in a chapter. Everything (with the exception of one revelation about Stella’s father) made sense, the character changes were logical and understandable, but nothing really had the emotional impact it could have carried.

It’s hard to say all this without sounding like I didn’t enjoy the book. I did, and I certainly don’t feel like it was a waste of the two afternoons it took to read it. And I guess this comes back to my key thing about Self Publishing. I have no expectations. Anything better than absolute tripe is a bonus, and Can’t Live Without is a long way above absolute tripe.

Also, it’s cheap.

Admittedly, I got this free when Joanne ran a promotion, but I wouldn’t have felt too bad about spending £1.91 on it. You can get Self Published books for 79p a lot of the time, so it’s not a venture that’s going to leave you out of pocket. Can’t Live Without isn’t as polished or cohesive as some of its published counterparts (but then, it’s also a damn sight better than some of its published counterparts – being traditionally published is not always a hallmark of quality) but for the price you’re paying it’s an enjoyable, light read.

And I definitely think Joanne Phillips is an author to keep an eye on.

Rating: 3/5

Joanne’s Website: http://joannegphillips.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Review: Can’t Live Without by Joanne Phillips

  1. Joanne Phillips says:

    I just came across this review and wanted to say thanks so much for reading and reviewing Can’t Live Without. Let me know if you’d like a review copy of The Family Trap – it has a much tighter focus and a single viewpoint narrative. (I think your criticisms are really well thought outand perceptive.) 🙂 Best wishes, Jo Phillips

    Like

Leave a Reply

