A Writing Slump

I said to myself at the beginning of September that, realistically, I wouldn’t be writing again until the October half term. That was before, even, I found out I would be covering for a long term sick member of staff – which isn’t that much extra pressure, but it is some.

Starting back at work has this effect on me. It’s draining, getting back into the physical rhythms of getting up early, following the timetable of the day, learning the new patterns of the fortnight. Then there’s the mentally draining side of learning all the new names and faces, getting to know the personality of classes, planning, marking, meetings etc.

On top of this, I’ve started a beginners training program with the local Running Club to try and improve my fitness. A few weeks ago I was running one minute, walking one and a half, repeating this seven times. Now I’m up to run twelve minutes, walk one, repeating three times. I feel like after this week, I’ll start to feel the benefit of improved energy and fitness, but up to now it’s been another drain.

I’ve been neglecting my blog. I have been using Writer’s Club as an opportunity to write a few posts without feeling guilty about the work I’m neglecting to do so, but that’s once a week, and for the last two weeks I was too tired to do anything. Since the first week of September, I’ve hardly written a word.

Today, I spent some time reading through old projects. I do this when I haven’t written for a while. It’s a way for me to reacquaint myself with my voice, my characters. I have a lot of unfinished projects, which means it’s also a way to get my creative ideas flowing, without the pressure of the blank page.

I don’t want to start looking at my next book in the series I’ve been writing over the summer. I don’t want to start that in a bitty way and never finish it. I will tackle that when I get to a point where I can commit to writing 500 words a day. But I want to start warming up. I want to start putting a few ideas down on paper.

I’m going to use a notebook, not my computer. I’ve picked an old story that I wrote very little for, but planned out quite well. I am going to write random scenes with no pressure to string them together.

I’m going to start clawing myself out of my slump.

Leave a Reply

