The Insane Summer Holiday Project

With several weeks holiday stretching out in front of me like a glorious stretch of open road, I’m casting my mind back to this time last year and trying to remember what I got up to.

Apparently, not a lot. I can’t really remember anything. I played a few gigs. I slept a lot.

I’ve already mentioned how I don’t want this to be the case again this year, and a few weeks ago I came up with a plan. A mad, crazy, entirely too ambitious plan. But it’s like the saying goes – shoot for the moon, if you miss you’ll land among the stars. In theory.

Over the holidays, when the Boyfriend is at work, whatever his shift might be, I am going to be living as a full time writer – writing for eight hours a day. No internet distractions, no procrastinating. Just solid writing, with rest breaks for lunch and refreshment. I am going to go running every morning to figure out what I’m going to write, then I’m going to get on with it.

I’m writing a series of novellas that I hope to make into e-books, to be available to download on Amazon. I’ve planned a series of nine. Nine 30,000 word novellas. In word count terms, that’s a regular trilogy’s worth. I have been trying to get the first finished, and, at time of writing this, I have 8000 words left. I’m hoping over the weekend I will be able to finish it. I know what’s happening, it’s the final, climactic moments. It should be achievable.

Whether the rest of the project is achievable, I don’t know. But I’m going to give it my best shot.

Here is the list of things I need to do. I will keep tabs on my progress here. Cheer me on?

The Insane Summer Holiday Project

1. Write book one
2. Write book two
3. Write book three (sensing pattern here?)
4. Write book four
5. Write book five
6. Write book six
7. Write book seven
8. Write book eight
9. Write book nine
10. Proof read and edit all books
11. Write script for promotional video one
12. Write script for promotional video two
13. Compose, transcribe and record theme music for videos
14. Turn spare room into green screen (this is entirely dependent on the Boyfriend’s permission. He changes his mind about the idea every week)
15. Shoot promotional videos
16. Coordinate with photographer friend (of Taylor’s) to take front cover photos
17. Design outfits and props for the front cover photos
18. Photoshop front cover photos to final designs
19. Write and create written promotional materials (extras etc.)
20. Research self-publication
21. Put all ingredients together to create self-published books and promotional materials
22. Blog all about it!

As you can see, this is a somewhat mammoth undertaking, and needs to happen at the same time as all the other stuff I’ve got going on, like house things, visiting friends and family, and just generally living and sleeping. I have no illusions that it will all miraculously get done, but I figure if I work hard, I might manage to achieve about two thirds of the list. Some are time sensitive, like the photos and others impact on each other, like designing the props, so it may be that I get a lot of the background stuff done, and need to hold off on the writing. But whatever way I do it, I’m going to give it my best shot.

And maybe by September, I’ll be almost ready to start thinking about putting some of my writing out into the world.

A big maybe.

Leave a Reply

