Priorities

People have questioned my judgement about buying a piano. Well, I say questioned my judgement, none of them have actually put the question to me, but the Boyfriend has reported that a couple of people have questioned him about my judgement. Probably for the best – they’d get a much more reserved answer from him.

The general concern expressed seems to be along the lines of: ‘Are you sure it’s a good idea to be buying a piano right now? It’s expensive? Are there not other priorities?’

Well, now, let me explain.

Yes, there are a lot of things that need doing to the house right now. We need new windows, new render on the back, an old rattly gas chimney thing removing. The kitchen light shorts out the electric when we switch it on because the overflow on the bath doesn’t overflow anywhere, except into the ceiling. The radiators are halfway through being replaced, the bathroom and hallway need decorating, the Minton floor needs repairing. We need carpet on the stairs, the Boyfriend wants to put in a log burner, we need a new front door.

There is a list longer than my arm of things we could throw money at in the near future. And it’s unlikely that that list is going to get shorter even if we did throw a whole lot of money at it. The sad truth is, unless we had millions stockpiled in the bank, there is always going to be something that needs doing. Once all those jobs are done, we’ll probably want a new kitchen putting in, and maybe a new bathroom, as the overflow pipe doesn’t go anywhere and all…

There will always be something that is a higher priority, always something that we could spend our money on instead.

So yes, I am making the piano a priority, because otherwise I will never get one. After all, what’s the point in having the most amazing house ever if there’s nothing inside it that makes it worth living in? I’m not an expensive girl – I don’t buy clothes, I don’t wear make up, my shoe habit has been curbed considerably by my dodgy hip, in so much as the last two pairs of shoes I’ve bought for myself I have bought for work. I want one expensive item that I will keep for the rest of my life.

I am going to have it.

Rant over.

One thought on “Priorities

Leave a Reply

