Review: A Fistful Of Charms by Kim Harrison

Title: A Fistful of Charms

Author: Kim Harrison

Series: Rachel Mogan #4

Publisher: Voyager

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Summary (from Goodreads)

The evil night things that prowl Cincinnati despise witch and bounty hunter Rachel Morgan. Her new reputation for the dark arts is turning human and undead heads alike with the intent to possess, bed, and kill her — not necessarily in that order.Now a mortal lover who abandoned Rachel has returned, haunted by his secret past. And there are those who covet what Nick possesses — savage beasts willing to destroy the Hollows and everyone in it if necessary.

Forced to keep a low profile or eternally suffer the wrath of a vengeful demon, Rachel must nevertheless act quickly. For the pack is gathering for the first time in millennia to ravage and to rule. And suddenly more than Rachel’s soul is at stake.

 

What’s Good About It
Anyone who’s my friend on Goodreads may have noticed that this has been my ‘currently reading’ book for well over a year. I’ve been picking it up, reading a few chapters, putting it down again on and off for months and have only just managed to finish. The fact that I’ve managed to keep returning to it for so long is very telling about the quality of story is being told.
Rachel Morgan’s world is a richly imagined one, and populated with fascinating characters. The politics, the magical systems – the whole premise is detailed and enveloping. When I was reading it, I didn’t want to put it down. But this was one I was reading purely for pleasure. I’ve borrowed it off a friend who (I really really hope!) is in no rush to get it back, and I would often put it on the back burner when review books came through. Putting it down made it a less appealing prospect to read, as there was a lot going on, and I had to remind myself of everything each time I started again.
I wonder if I had read this in one straight stretch whether I would have given it five stars, rather than the four I’ve chosen. It has all the things I like – mystery and intrigue and romance played against a backdrop of the supernatural – but the fact that I did keep putting it down and coming back to it, rather than powering through, review books be damned, makes me think that it’s probably more deserving of the four stars I’ve given it: good, but not brilliant enough to hold my attention over everything else on offer.
There’s not a lot else I can say about the story without spoiling things if you haven’t read previous instalments. The Goodreads summary is spoilery enough. I will leave it at this: if you enjoyed Rachel Morgan books 1-3, then A Fistful of Charms is much the same fare. An enjoyable read.
What’s Not So Good
I don’t know… I just don’t enjoy Kim Harrison’s books as much as I enjoy Kelley Armstrong’s. I guess it’s just a matter of personal taste, as there isn’t really anything ‘wrong’ as such with Rachel Morgan and pals. Just not my favourite urban fantasy writer or series.
Rating: 4/5
Leave a Reply

