Review: Defiance by Lili St. Crow

Title: Defiance

Author: Lili St. Crow

Series: Strange Angels #4

Publisher: Quercus

Genre: YA Paranormal

Summary (from Goodreads)

Now that sixteen-year-old Dru’s worst fears have come true and Sergej has kidnapped her best friend Graves, she’ll have to go on a suicidal rescue mission to bring him back in one piece.

That is, if she can put all of Christophe’s training to good use, defeat her mother’s traitor, Anna, once and for all, and manage to survive another day. . .

What’s Good About It

Any old follower of this blog will know I’m a big fan of the Strange Angels series. It combines just the right amount of Supernatural, kick ass female lead, emo boys and love drama to make me a very happy reader. I like them so much, they have been among the few books I’ve actually bought for myself recently.

That sounds bad – let me clarify.

I get a lot of books. I get books for review. I’m bought books by friends. I borrow the entire back catalogue of Terry Pratchett novels from Carole and don’t read them because I’m too busy making my way through everything else. I read books for work. I borrow books from the library. I really, really don’t need to buy any more books for about 5 years. So it has to be something really special for me to get over my guilt at the massive amounts of reading material I still have waiting for me and buy more.

The Strange Angels series has got me over that guilt twice. The other two I received for review.

That said, you may as well stop reading, because you know I’m going to gush like a fangirl about how brilliant it was.

But that’s the thing – despite astronomical expectations, the Strange Angels series hasn’t let me down yet. Defiance delivers all the same attitude and adrenaline of the first three instalments, upping the stakes by forcing Dru to wait in uncertainty for most of the novel before the inevitable mission to rescue Graves is mounted.

And Dru’s conflict about her feelings for the two boys vying for her affection feels real and believable. I don’t like love triangles, but every step of this one is played just on the right line of plausibility against ‘swoon’ factor.

All in all, a brilliant book that has me waiting, impatiently, for the fifth and final instalment.

What’s Not So Good

Well, I was a bit miffed that Graves didn’t feature much – he’s my favourite character.

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

