2010 – It Was A Very Good Year

So the year is drawing to a close. Before I consider my New Year’s Resolutions, I thought I’d look back on everything that happened in 2010.

Things I Achieved

  • Passed my Post Grad course with Masters level
  • Became full time employed in a career, not just a job
  • Started this blog
  • Joined a gym
  • Bought a shiny car
  • Became Godmother to my best friend’s adorable little girl
  • Became a big sister for the fifth (!) time
  • Saw my mum get married to the man she truly loves
  • Play several ‘gigs’ for family occasions
  • Won 6 books
  • Wrote 25000 words on my WIP, despite huge pressures of work

Things I Discovered

  • Musical tastes expanding with The Prodigy and The Temper Trap. Yes. Can’t get more different than that.
  • New addiction to Syfy show Eureka
  • Misfits – a show made of awesome
  • Maggie Stiefvater, Suzanne Collins, Tabitha Suzuma, Ally Condie, Jennifer Lynne Barnes and countless other authors I would likely have missed out on were it not for the blogosphere
  • It is possible to exist on four hours sleep, stress levels through the roof and hours spent working. Just not very pleasant

Other Good Things

  • Ireland Mark II
  • Making my mark on the house. (boyfriend would say ‘mess’ but fortunately, he’s not writing this) I’ve on-off lived here all through Uni, but 2009-2010 is the first year I’ve permanently lived here
  • Finally having my own wardrobe (that wasn’t my Uni one, which had a psychadelic pattern and smelled of dust and mildew)

Things That Weren’t So Fab

  • Car (of the non shiny variety) broke utterly
  • My bad hip

With 2011 on the doorstep, it’s time to think of some resolutions. I know resolutions traditionally last til about the end of January, but I’m determined to keep mine. Well, at least some of them. Hopefully.

Resolutions

  • Continue working on my WIP, hopefully completing first draft sometime in 2011
  • Take better care of my feet
  • Stop eating everything within arm’s reach and get back into my size 10s (which I believe in America-speak is size 8?)
  • Linked to previous point, stop thinking that Doritos and soft cheese is a healthy balanced meal
  • Read some of my TBR pile instead of always bumping them down in favour of shiny new acquisitions
  • Read some of friend’s books and return them to her
  • Keep up with the gym and train for a 5k run

Happy New Year to everyone out there! What are your resolutions this year?

One thought on “2010 – It Was A Very Good Year

Leave a Reply

