Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Title: The Hunger Games

Author: Suzanne Collins

Series: The Hunger Games #1

Genre: YA Future Dystopia

Publisher: Scholastic

Summary (from Goodreads)

Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with every one out to make sure you don’t live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV.

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before—and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

What’s Good About It

Lots. Euh, so my reading list for september has gone completely out of the window. First off, I’m so insanely busy I don’t really have time or energy to read anything heavy going. Then I manage to finally get my hands on this. I said I would only have a look then get back to what I was supposed to be reading. Yeah, three hours later…

So, this book was good enough to suck me in and not let go. It gripped, hard, from the very first sentence.

I’m a fan of a good dystopia. I like the idea of civilisation gone to hell, and the heroes that emerge from the ashes. And Katniss, the heroine of the series, is certainly memorable. Awkward and unsure of herself, until she has a bow and arrows in her hand, she’s vulnerable enough to be sympathetic, but kick ass enough to be interesting.

Yes the story isn’t particularly anything new. We’ve seen ‘killer reality TV show’ in a number of guises, from Battle Royale to Doctor Who. It’s a colourful enough premis to get away with being familiar, and the characters make it great.

I don’t really need to go on much more – this series gets enough blog space as it is, and I’m terribly behind the game, what with Mockingjay out… This was a great book. ‘Nuff said.

What’s Not So Good

Not so much a criticism of the book but of forming opinions and conclusions before reading. I don’t know where this came from, but I had this impression of Peeta as a character that was totally unlike what he was actually like. What he was like was fine, but it wasn’t what I was expecting, and for that reason it took me about half the book to get over it. Very silly of me.

Rating: 5/5

6 thoughts on “Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

  1. ayunda says:

    I love the Hunger Games! Why don’t you like Peeta? He’s my favorite character.
    I like to read and write too. Please visit my blog! Anyway, great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

